We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Luna

Restaurante La Luna
Calle 30 de Junio, Flores, Guatemala
78675443
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 restaurants in Flores
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

La Luna is by far the most charming restaurant in Flores. We ate there twice and both times the meals were excellent. I had the fish caught in the lake the first time and the stuffed squash with bechamel sauce the second time. Both were fabulous. My partner had the chicken cordon bleu both times and raved about it. The atmosphere is delightful. We asked to be put in the quietest dining room and it was wonderful. The waiter was helpful and attentive without being overbearing. We loved it and would highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    47
    32
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Flores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Really nice atmosphere, great service and wide selection of meals for any taste. Including international food, but also local specialties. Quite expensive for Guatemalan standards, with main dishes around 10 EUR = 100 quetzal. But in my opinion, it was worth the price. Definitely would come back on my next trip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The food was excellent. We ordered gazpacho, shrimp soup, ratatouille and pork medallions, and everything was fantastic. The waiters don't speak English, but to our amazement, the menu was in something like 8 different languages, including Hebrew. The atmosphere, the decor and the location are very nice as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“nice cool ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

stop there for a nice coffee or cool drink,..centrally located and great ambiance

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is the most professional restaurant on the island with excellent service and very tasty food. The restaurant itself is divided between three rooms, each with a unique atmosphere and neat woodcarvings. It has the best carbonara on the island, and some interesting vegetarian options including the calabacitas which are a local gourd filled with chopped veggies and covered in a creme sauce. Other dishes like the chiles rellenos are quite tasty and well-spiced. My only hesitation (hence the 4*) is some of the prices can get a bit high for Guatemala, although they are not out of line by U.S. or European standards. Perhaps a drink special or two like the other Flores establishments might help to sweeten the deal...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Luna also viewed

Flores, Peten Department
Flores, Peten Department
 
Flores, Peten Department
Flores, Peten Department
 

Been to Restaurante La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.