We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“la mejor opcion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Peten to your Saves list
Hotel Peten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30 de junio, Isla de Flores, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“la mejor opcion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

un buen hostel con kayaks y tours en kayak un restaurantte con musica bossanova
very good hotel with kayaks guided tours and the resturant has very good music and the restaurant has very good breakfas

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
41
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Peten for one night in November. The room was clean except for some ants, but ants are not that big of a deal, as they seemed to be just passing through. The location was perfect to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set over the lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an early flight the next day and the staff made us box lunches to take with us since we wouldn't be there for breakfast. The only issue with this hotel, besides the pool in the lobby which was a little odd, but OK, was the night club across the street. Right about when the sun went down, the music went way up. I think they were booming until around 2:00 am. If we didn't have an early flight the next morning, this wouldn't have been an issue since we would most likely have been sitting down there with a drink in our hands. I would possibly stay in this hotel again if I was back in Flores.

Room Tip: Even though it is noisy on some nights, I would definitely recommend a room facing the lake. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a triple room which was a great size. The balcony was fine and the shower good. The cleaning staff were very efficient but the rooms were a little tired (sheets, towels, shower curtain etc). Breakfast was freshly made and very reasonable. Location is great. One downside is noise from outside on the promenade but if you don't mind noisy aircon on this drowns it all out nicely!

Room Tip: If they are not busy get a triple room for a double price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

There seems to a dearth of quality accommodation in Flores. Hotel Peten was very well located right on the lake and the staff were very helpful in organising our transport to Tikal, laundry, etc. But the room itself was very run down and pokey – not helped by having too much furniture crammed in a small room. To say the rooms need renovation is an understatement: power sockets hanging out of the wall, rickety beds, bathroom fittings chipped and worn and bed linen definitely having seen better days. Nor was it particularly cheap considering. But, as a base from which to visit Tikal, the town has a captive audience and therefore probably not under much pressure to raise standards!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very noisy,,air condition in a whole that u can listen the noise of the road,unfriendly stuff in the reception,they charge very high the wifi connection,horrible towels,
The food was terrible....especially dinner

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My stay at Hotel Peten was fantastic, due mostly to the incredibly courteous staff at the hotel. From check-in to departure, everyone was kind and extremely helpful. My room had a great balcony looking out onto the lake and noise was never a problem during the nights. Hot water was HOT and the one meal I had at the hotel was enjoyable, though sadly I was the only person eating at the hotel. If you're in the Flores area, definitely also search our Sergio Crasborn as his tour services are incredible and I utilized him for both a tour to Yaxhá and a lake tour. Very kind

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
1,379 helpful votes 1,379 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is in Santa Elena, not Flores. The rooms were the smallest we had had on our tour of Central America and were showing signs of wear & tear. Views from our room of Lago Peten Itza, the lagoon of Flores. Swimming Pool. Had good 05.30 breakfast before visit to Tikal- this is a vast tricky and dangerous site particularly after heavy rain which makes the chalky soil extremely slippery. Although the hotel is situated on a very busy road traffic noise is not a problem. Many rooms have lakefront outlook.

Room Tip: Try to get room with lakefront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Peten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peten

Address: Calle 30 de junio, Isla de Flores, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peten 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Peten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.