We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, chill out terrace and great view of the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Dona Goya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Dona Goya
Save
You added Hospedaje Dona Goya to your Saves list
Calle la Union, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Spacious room, chill out terrace and great view of the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

With a little bit of investment Doña Goya Dos could be a really nice hotel, at the moment the good points are as in the title, nice, big room, relaxing in the hammocks on the terrace is lovely and the view is fantastic. Also the guys that work there are really helpful and the mattresses in our room were brand new and comfy. But the pillows are really lumpy, the shower curtain needs changing, our toilet had a temperamental flush and the bathroom needs a deep clean. The rooms weren't cleaned every day, sometimes we had to ask. Overall for the price (we paid 140 quetzals) means the positives outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the lake are spacious, those for 100 quetzals are small but fine, you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
16
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was a comfortable room for the price - all basic amenities covered and is right above the lake with dock access. The staff were helpful when approached and can arrange travel to other sites/cities as needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel itself is fairly average. There are several hotels on the west side of Flores that are all around the same price point and level of accommodation. The hotel has free internet, cable tv, hot water, most rooms have shared balcony and there is a rooftop terrace with hammocks where you can watch the sunset. In terms of value, we paid about $20 US a night for a double room.

Flores is a cute little town with a panoramic view of the lake. I definitely recommend staying the night in Flores, and most hotels are all grouped together along the western edge so you can easily look around for a hotel that's right for you.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the second or third floor facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Price: Q.100 for a double (two double beds actually) with fan, Q.140 for lake-view with fan, Q.200 for lake-view with air-con, all have private bath
Review: Make sure you ask for a room in Doña Goya 2, same owner different building. It’s just a block down the street from Doña Goya 1 and was much nicer. Doña Goya 2 has three floors plus a thatch-roof covered balcony with hammocks and chairs that overlook the lake where you can have a beer and relax, so there is no reason to pay for a lake-view room. Air-con is almost a must in this humid region of the country, but we made do with a fan. Hot water was nice, but we didn’t need it. The non-air-con rooms have two sliding glass doors for entry closed with tiny padlocks, a little suspect, but we had no problems. It’s in a fine part of town; the island is so small that nowhere is really out of the way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

There are 2 Dona Goya's. Dona Goya 1 which we were told is only dorm rooms and Dona Goya 2 which is private rooms. They are pretty much situated next to each other on the small island of Flores.
There rooms were ok, nothing great. We were on the 3rd floor. We had a double bed and a single bed in the room. The windows overlooked the stairs and the bathroom was extremely small and cramped. We payed 100Q for this. They did offer us a room with a view for 140Q but we were only staying the night so werent interested.
I noticed they did have free wi-fi and had a great little hammock area on the top terrace with great views.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed here for three nights for my trip to Flores, and was happily surprised to learn that, for the price of Q30 for a dorm bed, this place was nice--spotless and featuring some lovely hammocks up on the terrace. I was worried to hear the problems with theft that other previous travelers had experienced, but I had no such bad luck. Furthermore, the hostel seems to realize that this was bad for business, and now offer to store your valuables in a safe. Good deal. Free internet is included, and the hostel is able to book tours for you too (although it pays to shop around a little beforehand).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

There are 2 places with the same name, numbered 1 and 2. I stayed in number 2 which has a terrific rooftop terrace overlooking the lake. They gave us a discount for not using AC, which was nice. The room had everything it needed, including a nice bath, a TV and access to the balcony. Only across the street was a dock where you could have a chat with fellow travelers or from which you could just jump off into the warm lake. Flores is a nice place to be and it is definitely more than just a jumpin-off point to Tikal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Dona Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Dona Goya

Address: Calle la Union, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Dona Goya Hotel Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Dona Goya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.