We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Amelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Amelia to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Amelia
Calle La Union | Ciudad Flores Peten Guatemala/ CA, Flores 001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good hotel and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in several places in Flores. Casa Amelia is just as clean as any more spacious than most and has a Great Lake view and roof top terrace. Staff is friendly. Even helped carry up luggage- others have not.
Nothing fancy but just a good place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like yours helps us improve our weaknesses so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    84
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
95
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caye Caulker, Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for several nights and was pleased with Casa Amelia. More importantly, as Flores was a stepping stone for further travels, Guate City, Antigua and the Pacific coast. We found the most gracious Guatemala couple who own and run Crasborn Travel Agency. Located behind Casa Amelia. Sergio and Karina are absolutely the most kind, courteous and professional people I have every dealt with in my travels throughout Central America. They went out of their way to make our journey(s) the most comfortable and secure. Sergio can speak a fair amount of English, which makes the planning very easy. They escorted us to our bus, treated us with so much respect...we felt like family, and have gone back with the same fine service each time . Thank you Cashburn Travel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

We gratify hearing your comments about our service, thanks for giving us your time to share your experience, your safety and comfort is our compromise . Will be happy to serve you in another time.

Kind Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but did eat here. It's on the ground level right across the street from the lake. The restaurant is very comfortable with an nice ambiance - wooden tables, plants, bamboo light shades and place mats, and flowers on the table.

We came at 11 a.m. and just wanted a couple of drinks and an appetizer, so we had a bloody mary and margarita respectively. They were very good and definitely did not skimp on the alcohol. We asked for some chips and salsa and they brought out the most delicious chips covered in cheese sauce and salsa (basically nachos).

The bathrooms were quite clean and they had free wifi. My only small complaint was despite two servers being on staff and us being the only table, service was exceedingly slow. Still, if you're not in a hurry, I'd recommend this place as a great option to chill and have a few drinks or snacks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Customer:

We appreciate your good comments about our services, it's good for us and a real pleasure to make you feel at home and meet their needs. We appreciate the time you take to comment on our service is a valuable recommendation to our potential visitors and move on to a better service.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Not too much to say about the Casa Amelia. Does the job in terms of bed and board. Bit expensive at $45 for what you get but that might also reflect the nice lake view from our room.

Staff are friendly but a bit uptight about the state of your banknotes if you pay in US$.

You might do better in Flores but probably not by much. If I were to go there again I'd head for the Casa Amelia without problem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just stayed at Casa Amelia this January. The location is great. You are steps from the boats that give you a ride to the small museum there is on one of the islands and also to one of the lookouts were you can clearly see Las Flores Island and the rest of them. You can spend some time reading and or simply just enjoying the view from their rooftop. You can also enjoy the view while eating at their restaurant. They serve complimentary cereal early in the morning so you can have something in your stomach before you take off to Tikal or Yaxha. You can also refill your water bottles for free. They have laundry service and free wifi wherever you go. Our room was spacious with three beds. Their dollar exchange rate is one of the highest, just make sure your dollars are nice and crispy otherwise they won't take them. Overall, great service and friendly staff. Right accross of this hotel you will see there is a travel agency. Ask for Sergio. He was so genuine and has great prices. He arranged our driver to Yaxha for a good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
798 reviews 798 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've been coming to Flores on and off for the past twelve years. I have stayed in six or seven different hotels on Flores and Casa Amelia is my new favorite after staying here on this trip. It has a great location overlooking the lake. The rooms are clean and spacious. It has a great rooftop terrace for viewing the sunsets. It has good hot water and has good air conditioning.

We stayed in rooms 203 and 204. Room 204 is a corner room with many windows and great views of the lake. The breakfast was weak but we walked around the island to Cool Beans for our breakfast. Amelia is just across the street from La Luna, my favorite restaurant in Flores.

I was so impressed with Casa Amelia that I have booked room 204 for another trip to Tikal this summer with my wife as we celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at the Casa Amelia Hotel, feedback like yours helps us improve our weaknesses so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.
Regarding
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although Casa Amelia is not fancy, it is perfectly fine for crashing after long days of hiking through Mayan ruins. It is right in the center of a charming little town that is small and easy to walk. It has great views from the rooftop deck, where you will surely find yourself relaxing at sunset. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in at 5:30 am. It was a breeze to set up transport to Tikal. The price suited our tight budget. Many good restaurant options in the area. Only a short and cheap taxi ride to the airport. 1 hour to Tikal. This was a good choice.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petenera53, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest.

We appreciate your time to write and share your good experience with us because your comment is very valuable, we consider its proposal to improve our service, We're proud for to thanks it is our best effort day to day become a best service. Thank you for choosing Hotel Casa Amelia and welcome at the next visit to Flores.

Best Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Amelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Amelia

Address: Calle La Union | Ciudad Flores Peten Guatemala/ CA, Flores 001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Amelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amelia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Amelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.