We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Amelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Amelia to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Amelia
Calle La Union | Ciudad Flores Peten Guatemala/ CA, Flores 001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Casa Amelia was a great place to stay in Flores. The room and hotel were clean. Our room had a great view of the lake. The staff were friendly. The breakfast could've been better and there's no flexibility when it comes to an early check-in. Overall great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petenera53, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed during your stay at Casa Flores Amelia, Thank you for Comments and visiting in Flores, we hope to have them again, We make to feel at home welcome at your next trip to Flores.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    84
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
95
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Exfcept the roof terrace which is just lovely.
The rooms onto the street wake up at five with the coaches off to Tikal.
The Amelia cafe is nothing to get excited about: there are three better within a few metres
Two of my light bulbs were out but reception didnt seem bothered

Room Tip: get a lake view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Altogether we stayed almost a week in Casa Amelia, using it as a base between different trips we did in the Peten. The staff are friendly and always helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. We loved the terrace and the lake views.
The hotel has safety boxes but that's exactly what they are: portable metal boxes that anyone could just carry away. We ended up leaving our valuables and electrical items locked in our backpacks and didn't have any problems. Once we left a laptop out charging and when we came back the room was cleaned with the laptop untouched. We also left some of our luggage with them when going to Tikal and again everything was just as we had handed it to them so we would say that the hotel is safe and that the staff can be trusted despite there being no decent safety deposit box.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We checked in here after a crap experience at Casa del Lacandon - definitely more expensive but a far better hotel. We had one of the rooftop rooms which was very clean and the view from the roof was awesome. The free breakfast served from 3-6am (maybe 7am, can't remember) could have been better. Other than that we would definitely stop here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petenera53, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed during your stay at Casa Flores Amelia, Thank you for Comments and visiting in Flores, we hope to have them again, You know this is your home will be welcome at your next trip to Flores.

Kindly regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for a night while we looked for a place in Remate. A reasonable price for three beds and and a fairly clean bathroom in a great location. Very near lots of restaurants, the lake, and everything else in Flores. The desk staff were very courteous and could speak pretty good English. If you're looking for a quiet room, look elsewhere; this place is right on the street.

Praise for the staff: I left my cell phone charger in the room. We returned for it two days later, and they had it!

Disappointments: the AC wouldn't work for us; it just circulated air.

Room Tip: Triple room for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at Casa Amelia! The room had gorgeous, huge windows looking over the lake. It would be impossible to beat the price. We also encountered an issue with a bus ticket and the staff went above and beyond to help us through the issue. We will absolutely stay there next time we're in Flores!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Casa Amelia is located right on the waterfront in Flores, with a dock for swimming and lounging. The rooms are clean, bright, and happy. Rooms have A/C, fans, consistent hot water, FREE wi-fi, and some have nice views. There is an awesome rooftop terrace overlooking the lake. When I say awesome I mean it - awesome. They give a free (small) breakfast in the morning for folks leaving early to Tikal or wherever.

Now that I've covered the superficial stuff, let me tell you what is REALLY great about Casa Amelia - Amelia, her awesome family, and the hotel staff. From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like family. Not only did the hotel set us up with (awesome, engaging, fun!) guided tours to Tikal, Yaxha, and Ixpanpajul, they also drove us to Santa Elena so that we could pick up some much-needed medical supplies and a new pair of hiking shoes, and they expected nothing in return except a "thank you". The hotel staff speak enough English to get by (especially if you speak a tad of Spanish) and are extremely helpful and friendly.

Folks are right that it can be a bit noisy because of its central location, but I was only awakened once by fireworks during our 4-night stay. If you're worried about it, bring ear plugs. In fact, that's probably a good idea for any light sleeper when traveling in developing countries. Do your homework, people!

Stay here!!! I'd force you if I could, but I can't, so I won't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Amelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Amelia

Address: Calle La Union | Ciudad Flores Peten Guatemala/ CA, Flores 001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Amelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amelia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Amelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.