We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dickey's Bar B Que

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dickey's Bar B Que
600 N Central Expy, McKinney, TX 75070
(972) 540-5340
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 213 Restaurants in McKinney
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great specials that are affordable and the food is always good. A great place to satisfy your BBQ craving.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not that good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We love BBQ and hoped to have some really good BBQ for lunch but we were disappointed. Son ended up sick from the pork he had. None of us were impressed and missed our BBQ place back home. Do love the cups and kept ours for home. Family living there likes it ok, but we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Not any different from any other Dickey's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This location isn't different from any of the others in the restaurant chain. Consistently good and not outrageously over-priced.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Triple meat platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I'm not very big on places that weigh or measure your food in front of you. Just feed a guy. However the flavors were good and the staff was really friendly. I liked it

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herington, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like vinegar taste you'll love Their sauce”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was one of the worst BBQ place I've been to. The area where you could get extra sauce had 3 flavors. The one I picked was suppose to be sweet. It was far from it. I have never had BBQ sauce that was that thin. It tasted like vinegar. I was plain to see that they thinned it with vinegar to make it go farther.
The meat was chewie and cold. They offered free ice cream with all orders. We my friend when to get himself some came back with it in a cup and it was melted. I and another friend did not try it at all after seeing that. I had BBQ at the Texas Roadhouse that was excellent in Topeka I also recommend Famous Dave's. I eat at the Manhattan Dave's only. But I'm
sure the Topeka one is just as good.
So detour this Dickeys in Topeka.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickey's Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickey's Bar B Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.