We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown McKinney, TX hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 West Louisiana Street, McKinney, TX 75069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in McKinney
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,250 reviews 1,250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 267 cities Reviews in 267 cities
656 helpful votes 656 helpful votes
“Downtown McKinney, TX hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to McKinney, TX. This hotel is located right downtown McKinney, TX on the square so a convenient location for walking to restaurant and small shops. It is a very good value. The hotel has character with a homey feeling. My only complaint about the room I stayed in is that it was very dimly lit even with all the lights on. The cocktail lounge was comfortable as well and staff very friendly. The hotel has a restaurant that seemed to be very popular with guests and locals, although I didn't eat there on this trip. A few steps away from the hotel is Snug on the Square which is a great little restaurant for breakfast or lunch with reasonable prices. Also suggest trying Gregory's Bistro for a meal, which is only about a block walk away and the food there is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
28
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Double Oak, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Grand Hotel is top notch! Our family had a wedding there this weekend and I was so impressed with the entire staff! Very friendly and more than happy to help in any way. We have a special needs child/adult in our family and Jose the general manager went out of his way to make sure he got chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast! The rooms are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable. We didn't want to leave! Thank you everyone at the Grand Hotel we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. Can not say enough about how tastefully it is decorated! We were on 4th fl, everything was brand new, including carpet. We stayed on valentines day 2014. Staff was very professional. Would recommend for couples get away. I would not take kiddos, personally. Do not have parking as it is old hotel downtown Mckinny(very EZ to get to). Get there early to get street parking. Will definitely go back !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently stayed at The Grand Hotel for a business trip and the day after we checked out, I realized that I had left a garment in the bathroom closet. I immediately called and the manager on duty (late night) was able to locate it in their lost and found. I called the next day to make arrangements on shipping and the manager I spoke to said that they would ship it to me and not to worry about it. I really thought that it was a nice gesture, rarely do you see folks willing to pick up the cost of something that was someone else's mistake!

Thank you to The Grand Hotel! We enjoyed our short stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed over night for a birthday event. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Had a nice room overlooking the downtown square in McKinney. The room was well appointed and comfortable. We had 2 issues. The bed took up a lot of room in the space which only allowed for one chair to sit on. Also the room was poorly lit and seemed quite dark during the day. Other than those issues, we enjoyed our stay and am looking forward to our next visit. Had a great meal at Rick's to go with the stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Was playing a gig at Churchills, and didn't want to drive afterward, so I opted for this place. Affordable for what it is. Nicely furnished, awesome steak next door, and friendly staff. I love that it's small. you would expect small rooms in a hotel this age, but, they were roomy, and provided everything you would need for a pleasure, or business stay. I will return for both.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok. U.S.A.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just stayed at the Grand for the fourth time to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff is warm and friendly, the rooms are fantastic, antique furniture, fantastic shower, and about 1/10th the price and twice the size of our room in the Plaza a few years back! A Hemingway stye bar, and Rick;s Chop House in the hotel, you could spend two days without leaving the hotel. They are generally booked for weddings on the weekends, so Sunday through Wednesday are the best times and rates. If you love the Raphael in Kansas City, you'll think you've died and gone to heaven at the Grand. Rex Graves, Tulsa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 114 West Louisiana Street, McKinney, TX 75069
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.