We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 West Louisiana Street, McKinney, TX 75069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in McKinney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed over night for a birthday event. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Had a nice room overlooking the downtown square in McKinney. The room was well appointed and comfortable. We had 2 issues. The bed took up a lot of room in the space which only allowed for one chair to sit on. Also the room was poorly lit and seemed quite dark during the day. Other than those issues, we enjoyed our stay and am looking forward to our next visit. Had a great meal at Rick's to go with the stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
30
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Was playing a gig at Churchills, and didn't want to drive afterward, so I opted for this place. Affordable for what it is. Nicely furnished, awesome steak next door, and friendly staff. I love that it's small. you would expect small rooms in a hotel this age, but, they were roomy, and provided everything you would need for a pleasure, or business stay. I will return for both.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok. U.S.A.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just stayed at the Grand for the fourth time to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff is warm and friendly, the rooms are fantastic, antique furniture, fantastic shower, and about 1/10th the price and twice the size of our room in the Plaza a few years back! A Hemingway stye bar, and Rick;s Chop House in the hotel, you could spend two days without leaving the hotel. They are generally booked for weddings on the weekends, so Sunday through Wednesday are the best times and rates. If you love the Raphael in Kansas City, you'll think you've died and gone to heaven at the Grand. Rex Graves, Tulsa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Worth the stay! Went there for a girls weekend & this place did not disappoint. The decor is gorgeous & the comfort of the room & bathroom is top notch. Staff is extremly kind. U are steps away from restaurants & shopping on the square in McKinney

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a working get-away. The hotel lobby is really nice and welcoming. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful on recommendations to restaurants and local attractions. Our king room was nice and overlooked the street. Bed was super comfortable. Bathroom and shower were great. Nice thick towels and upscale toiletries with a loofah and mini mouthwash. Would highly recommend this hotel. We had drinks in the lounge one night. Trevor, the bartender, was friendly and remembered our names. It was so nice to ge away from the "chain" hotels and stay in a property that has personality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms had an 1800's vibe. Very clean, pillow top beds, affordable room service, quiet, and well worth the money. Only a little more than a hotel I stayed in the previous night that I had to leave at 5am due to the smell..... that will not be happening this time!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On my recent first trip to Texas I stopped at McKinney simply because it was the right distance north of Dallas and its airport. The beautifully landscaped town square with its excellent stores, restaurants and coffee shops with friendly people made me glad I had done so. The hotel is on the square so I was able to wander around the town and admire the gardens and architecture early the next morning. The antiques in my room were gleaming and the new modern bathroom brought the best of the 21st century into what was originally a nineteenth century building. It was up to the standards of a five star hotel in a major city on any continent but was surprisingly inexpensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 114 West Louisiana Street, McKinney, TX 75069
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.