We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 West Louisiana Street, McKinney, TX 75069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in McKinney
Atoka, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary last year and it was a overall great experience. The rooms are luxurious and I would suggest getting an exterior room since our interior room was a bit small. The staff was excellent, and the manager even helped me plan some romantic surprises for my wife. They do a lot of weddings and the hotel can get a little rambunctious if you go during one. The downstairs bar has excellent live music and great drinks.

The hotel also owns Ricks Chophouse, a wine & cheese bar across the street, and an Italian restaurant all on the square. I HIGHLY reccomend Ricks Chophouse.

Room Tip: Try not to get an interior room as they are a bit cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
27
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisanelson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was not looking forward to turning 50, so I decided to follow my heart's desire and stay near my favorite historical downtown spot; McKinney, Texas. I considered some of the bed and breakfasts, but since this hotel is located in the downtown area, I decided upon it. I was so impressed by our room, 401. It is the nicest room I have ever stayed in. I have been blessed with traveling to Europe and many nice places, but this room gets first prize. I believe it is the nicest room in the hotel. I did peak into one of the other rooms, and though it was much smaller, it was still furnished beautifully and the bathroom was absolutely outstanding. 401 has a sitting area with gorgeous furniture and a fireplace with a huge flatscreen tv mounted above it. It also has a nice table and artwork on the walls, as well as bookshelves with many books to look through. The bathroom was amazing, with a large furniture piece with granite and two sinks, and a nice sized shower with good water pressure and a huge tub that I wished I had had the time to enjoy! It also had robes in a huge closet. The bed was enormous and so comfortable! I so wanted to move in and never leave. It is adjacent to Rick's Chophouse, and there are many nice restaurants and shops along the square. For breakfast, Spoons is just a block away, and Snug is right around the corner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Stay at the Grand Hotel, I highly recommend it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is in an old building on the square in McKinney, which means exposed brick walls and heavy woodwork. It is furnished well with antiques, nice linens; but both the bedrooms and the bathrooms are small. I really enjoyed staying here except for the noise coming from the functions in the private rooms. The band at the wedding reception and the DJ from a birthday party were loud, but it ended at a decent time (10:30 p.m.?) If you're in town in business and have a lot of work to do on the computer, the facilities are not conducive. But we asked about a refrigerator, and two maids brought a small one to our room. Now that's service!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the ballrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent the night during my company's Christmas Party. Food and Service was very good. Room was rather disappointing. It had no windows, was rather small, and the A/C unit made a ton of noise - too much to sleep. Also, the door did not meet the floor very well. Beside the kight the shown in from the hallway, I was honestly afraid someone could lay on the floor and watch us! Hey, no kids and an x-mas party atmosphere - just sayin'

Would go back though.

Room Tip: Get one with a window or give up and move to Marriott on Stacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Grand, as we were in town for a wedding and the reception was held at the Grand. I would rate it 4.5 stars if I had that option. But since TA only uses full-star increments, I'm ultimately rounding up to a 5 since the Pros solidly outweigh the Cons.

Cons:
• The walls are paper thin. We could hear every word of the conversation in the room next door, and they weren't even being loud. (In any other hotel that I didn't love this much, that would have majorly irked me, but the hotel was so great that it became a minor annoyance) :)
• There are oddly no towel bars in the bathroom. It was weird, you have to lay your hand towel across the sink which was kind of awkward. Weird, because the bathroom was quite large and there was room for several towel bars if they wanted.
• No hotel-specific parking. It was sunny when we were there, so we didn't have to walk in the rain or anything. There is a large lot 1/2 block from the hotel which made this not such a huge issue. (And added to the charm/quirk of the small hotel.)

Pros:
• The staff, as everyone else has said, is AMAZING! So friendly and accommodating. I believe the manager's name is Jose, and he's a gem.
• Our room was spotless. I was TRYING to look for something icky and couldn't find it.
• The lounge downstairs was so fun and funky. A blues trio was playing one night, and it was just the perfect ambiance to go with a glass of wine or a martini.
• The furniture in the room was gorgeous. It was all "real" furniture - antiques and sleigh bed and solid wood pieces. There was even a ceiling fan - major bonus points there!
• Excellent & plentiful Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Even a little loofah and a mini bottle of Scope mouthwash.
• The food was amazing. We didn't have a chance to eat at Rick's Chophouse, but the heavy hors d'oeuvres served at the wedding reception (catered by Rick's) were amazing - each one was better than the last. Would have loved the chance to have eaten there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wanted charm and we got charm and right downtown McKinney too! We had a wonderful stay. We shopped all afternoon with the friendliest people and ate at Rick's Chophouse, the hotel's restuarant. We can't wait to go back! The hotel is comfortable and inviting and the food was absolutely wonderful! Service was even better, if that is possible. Highly recommend a downtown McKinney stay at the Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed for one night while in McKinney for business. Old school, traditional room with antique-appearing furniture and fixtures. King sized bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom wasn't dirty but certainly was not the most sparkling one I've seen. Mostly the sink and fixtures seemed old. Service was great and for the price, a good value stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 114 West Louisiana Street, McKinney, TX 75069
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;