We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy at Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug on the Square

Snug on the Square
109 N. Kentucky St., McKinney, TX
972-548-7684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 242 Restaurants in McKinney
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sherman, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy at Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This cute little coffee house has a nice cafe style menu. More than that, it was the only business open in downtown Monday morning, and popular! I had a delicious waffle with fresh strawberries on top. Yum!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a late lunch here -- both of us ordered the grilled pimento cheese/bacon sandwich and the baked potato soup. The food did not disappoint! We practically licked the plate, and we liked the dark bread so much that we took home a loaf. What did disappoint was the service. Since they weren't that busy I thought they would be more attentive, but the owner was giving an interview and the staff seemed to be paying more attention to that. Still, I would go back for that delicious sandwich!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As the name implies, Snug is right on the downtown square in McKinney. We live here and are repeat customers. The staff is friendly and the food is consistently good. They have several Melt sandwiches that are classics with a twist, like Ham & Cheese. Not just ANY ham - honey baked ham. Not just ANY cheese - pecan cheddar (melted of course, since it is a hot melt sandwich). Then add some fresh spinach and strawberry jam. The bun is toasty soft too! Be sure and grab a homemade brownie or bar. There are different kinds so you just have to see what's in the basket when you go in. The cranberry one is fabulous. The store decor is interesting and quirky. They have preserved the McKinney historical heritage with pressed tin ceiling and upper walls and added bright, cheerful artwork all around. Look for art pieces made from wooden rulers, cupcake liners, etc. There is seating inside and out. Prices are moderate and quite reasonable. Portion sizes are moderate as well. My wife and I usually get one sandwich each and split a dessert. We take nothing home but are sated. Go! You'll be glad you did. We hear the breakfast items are also good and offered all day but we have never tried those yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful lunch spot on the Square in the McKinney downtown area. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Pimento cheese melt is wonderful. Defintely a place to try for a light lunch, breakfast or drinks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
“Saturday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Knew Saturday noon would be busy for Snug on the Square and we were relaxed to wait as long as necessary, but the wait for the food was only a short while. The hardest part was finding a table, but with perseverence, we found one, though we had to bus our own table. There is such a short turnaround in table space that there was no chance for them to clean the tables. Good food, excellent prices and ecclectic ambience. Loved it. I will go there again to partake of the wonderful breakfast menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snug on the Square also viewed

 

Been to Snug on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.