We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Texas!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchin's BBQ and Grill

Hutchin's BBQ and Grill
1301 North Tennessee Street, McKinney, TX 75069
972.548.2629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 213 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best in Texas!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the "so called" best BBQ places in Texas (Lockhart) and Hutchins is wwaaayyy better than those places in Lockhart!!
The meat is tender and awesome.
Plus I have never been to a place where you serve yourself yet someone comes by to refill your drinks and asks if you need anything else. Love love!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Being from the north it may not be too hard to impress me, but this bbq was the best! We got the family special and it was more than enough for 4 adults and 1 child. Great atmosphere, great food, great price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good bbq great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here great ribs and bbq pork. Sides were good green beans excellent, coleslaw good. Peach pie was good too. Loved the place decor was great. We drove 20 miles to get there was well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Texas BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We come to DFW area fairly often and always looking for new places to try. After a while you get burned out on the chains and Hutchins did not disappoint. We tried the sliced beef and turkey. Both meats were good and their original sauce was delicious. The sides are fairly typical of a bbq restaurant. My husband wanted french fries and they were cooked to order using fresh cut potatoes. The beans and potato salad were good as well. They offer and all you can eat selection but I am unable to eat large portions. In fact,they allowed me to have a kids plate and to be it was more than enough. I can't imagine how large a regular portion would be. It is a very casual atmosphere and according to their sign they have been in business since late 70's so that says something for the product they serve. The next time we are hungry for bbq and near the area Hutchins would be our choice. Thanks to all on Trip Advisor that led us to this enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Bbq in Dfw...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been trying BBQ joints for 2 years now. This one is hands down is my favorite in the dfw area. Spicy sausage...amazing. Smoked Turkey ......juicy. Brisket, fat that melts in your mouth. Get a 3 meat plate so you can try everything. My mac n cheese and potato salad was great. Then free desserts, yum. This might have been my favorite BBQ sauce in Texas. Remember, you cant rate BBQ , it is all a personal choice. This place did make the top 50 for good reason.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutchin's BBQ and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hutchin's BBQ and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchin's BBQ and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.