We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel for a Decent Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 McKinney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 McKinney to your Saves list
Motel 6 McKinney
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2125 White Avenue, U.S. 75 at White Avenue, Exit #40-B, McKinney, TX 75069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in McKinney
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel for a Decent Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you are looking for a cheap but clean place that allows dogs I would recommend this hotel. There is a Waffle House next to it and a few bars.

I'm not a big fan of the new Motel 6 modern style hotels because I prefer carpet over hard floors.

I would stay here again while traveling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
10
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mckinney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

the housekeepers steal! i have been a long time customer there i never had any complaints that was worth me writing a review until now. i checked out and remembered not even 10 mins later i left something in the room i called and the lady was like yeah ok you can come back i told her i was at work but i would swing by on my lunch break and come get it. I leave work a little early to go up there not even 3 hours after i checked out and THEY SAY ITS NOT THERE! bull! the housekeeper had the nerve to yell and get a attitude when asked about it why are you defensive if you didn't steal it? and then to make it even worse they owner had a attitude like it was my fault they hired rouge people to work for them....they have lost a customer!

Room Tip: DONT GOOOOOOOOOOOOOO and don't touch the telephones inside the rooms1!! you just might get somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Another great find in the Motel 6 family. The only missing thing was a pool...no swimming pool but other than that the motel was great. This one has all interior corridors and an elevator for those who need it. The staff at the desk are awesome!!!! Super friendly and good with directions. The rooms are pretty good size and they all come with a refrigerator and free wi fi. For the price it cannot be beat. This is a refurbed Motel 6 with the wood floors and the bright orange accent walls, flat screen tv's....all in all a great little find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckinney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

i stayed at this location on in feb. and it was the best stay i have ever had. The beds were great and the wood floors are just beautiful and nice and clean,the front desk clerk are very nice and helpful i will stay at this location again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

I recently just stayed there and was there for almost a week, I had to leave today because of bed bugs and I couldn't take it anymore! The manager didn't believe me but yet I have the bites to prove it. He said because he couldnt find any and because the mattresses were new that I had to be making it up. The only person that was nice there was the older white lady, she was the only one who seemed concerned about my incident there. Oh and as soon as we threatened to call the news and report them, they jumped on refunding me only one night and he was going to call "pest controll" he said

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This Motel 6 is a low end budget motel with very small rooms. There best room rate is just slightly less than the local Days Inn or Super 8 but much less quality. Smelled of smoke in elevator and other public areas. Internet WiFi available at no charge but it would time out every 2 or 3 minutes. Not very fast internet speed when it was working. Pet Friendly at no additional charge. IT was quite difficult to locate this Motel 6 at night when comming from North Texas. I recommend that if you stay here you get detailed driving instructions from the motel staff prior to arriving.

Room Tip: Only stay here if it is a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is one of Motel 6’s “Accor” properties and there a 3 floors of rooms, They do have an elevator. We visited in Feb. 2012. The outside of the property wasn’t very clean but we considered that is was winter time and may not have been doing regular outside cleaning however the temp was in the 70’s. Then there was the strong smell of “Curry”. The Front Office / Common area was clean and decorated with Valentine theme.

We travel with 2 little dogs and Motel 6 is usually our option and this was no exception.
WiFi was free here but I don’t know how well it worked, we were to tired for internet.

Our bed was very comfortable and that unfortunately is not typical of most Motel 6’s but maybe that is slowly changing.

We changed rooms because our first room the tub faucet dripped. I noticed it immediately and called the front desk and a young man came up to check it out. I told him I was not going to listen to the rest of the night with drip drip. He change our room.

The next room wasn’t very clean. The toilet wasn’t connected to the floor and wiggled and twisted around and was nasty around the base. I have pics of the bathroom.

The management has no controll over past Guests that have No Respect for a NON Smoking room. there were places on the counter where a Smoking Guest had placed thier cig at the edge of the counter top. this was a personal slam to "Those People" not Motel 6.

Sadly this Motel 6 didn’t not use E-address to get a survey from Corp. I may attempt to contact corp anyhow.

Room Tip: they have elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 McKinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 McKinney

Address: 2125 White Avenue, U.S. 75 at White Avenue, Exit #40-B, McKinney, TX 75069
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 McKinney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 McKinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Mckinney
Mckinney Motel Six
Mckinney Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 McKinney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.