We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delaney's Irish Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Delaney's Irish Pub
6150 W. Eldorado Pkwy #120, McKinney, TX 75070
972-529-6777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 242 Restaurants in McKinney
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have been a few times but the service is TERRIBLE. I'm not even sure you can say they have service there. Also, we were in not too long ago and a staff member was drunk. One can only assume she wasn't working but she was so incredibly sloppy drunk and wearing her work shirt. Doesn't say much about ownership/management that allows that to happen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mckinney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SURPRISE!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I planned a party at Delaney's on very short notice. I asked if they could accomadate about 30 people. They had planety of staff there to attend our guests. They bussed the tables frequently, checked on us often without disturbing us and the food came out promptly.

They have a couple of pool tables, and there were no problems with our guests getting in the way of those that wanted to shoot pool even though our tables were very close to the billiards.

They had a band on Saturday night. A very good band, Up at Eleven? They also have a nice juke box if there's no live music.

There didn't seem to be a lot of people sitting in the sports bar half of the establishment this Saturday night. The people that were there appeared to be in their mid 20's - 30 y/o. A couple of tables were occupied and it looked like a girls night out thing.

Irish Pub... it is not. I'm sorry that I may have to agree with others as far as some of the imports on tap. I tried a couple and they were stale. I switched to Franconia which is brewed locally and had no complaints.

Nobody in our party complained about the food. One of the guests loved the meat loaf. Others thought the fried shrimp was better than they expected to get. The cold cuts on the house salad made the dish a meal that could be shared. The combo platter was a decent start and was large enough for many to enjoy.

All in all, they made sure we all had a really good time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not Irish. Not very good. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Guinness was tolerable. Not poured in two parts and a bit stale. Food was awful. Progressive country western music blaring. Don't know how that is Irish. Big unfriendly place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Large inside, great selection of beer and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stopped in on a rainy/icy Sunday Morning and every dining room table was full. We sat at a bar table as about half of those were open. The wait staff was very busy as people continued to come in. I was very impressed that a place located in a shopping center could be this large and nice on the inside. I was very impressed with the interior. Large Bar in the center that divided two dining areas. High top tables on one side of the bar and very large bar itself. The place was clean and the menu had a very nice selection of goodies. All of the food we ordered was very good. We had a very nice relaxing time here and will be back for sure. Everything was great. The waiter was too assuming I guess. He was obviously too forward and crossed personal boundaries without a doubt. Maybe he was trying too hard to come across as comfortable talking to people. He was talking to us as if we were old friends of 20 years. There was nothing he wouldn't say. Luckily we are not easily offended. It came across as conceited and a bit abrasive to us but he was a very nice person as was everyone we met inside. We are glad to see this place looking good and apparently doing very well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
“This place is a must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Fun friendly staff. Great food and drinks. I like that it is located in stonebridge so that it's close to home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaney's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Delaney's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delaney's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.