We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid pizzeria, no nonsense, and great for people who don't like the chain pizzerias.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durkin's Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Durkin's Pizza
8930 State Highway 121, Ste 594, McKinney, TX 75070-3167
972-727-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 242 Restaurants in McKinney
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Solid pizzeria, no nonsense, and great for people who don't like the chain pizzerias.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Solid good pizzas, family owned and run by a couple of brothers as I recall. Atmosphere is strictly strip center chic, but great family place and the food is good. Service is good, they work their butts off.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Michael Durkin - respectable restauranteur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The time has come for MD to reap the benefits of his hard work. He is not a guy that decided to open a pizza place. He knows his BUSINESS. I am more than happy to get a pizza from him and avoid the chains. His place is packed yet he takes time to go around and say hey to the folks. And also, his pizza is amazing, some kind of garlic sauce that is wonderful.
I went twice this week :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Durkin's is a neighborhood find where people and pizza are priority #1.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

Durkin pizza is exceptional. Spaghetti is favorite combined with cheesy bread.

DURKIN's is place we have felt welcome from the day we walked in.

Much respect for a man who takes the time to know his customers.

Pizza must.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We read positive reviews on Google, so we decided to give this a try this place a quick take-out for dinner yesterday. BIG MISTAKE!!! It was not fresh at all. It tastes like someone's leftover cheese pizza from the freezer with some toppings on it. The dough is tough and way too chewy. The dough has absolutely no salt, the bottom of the pizza is burned and we did not taste enough marinara sauce. The pizza is topped by thick rubbery textured mozzarella cheese with dehydrated parsley sprinkled over it. Pepperoni and olive did not add enough salt and flavor to this super bland pizza. Only way we made it edible was to put dashes of Tabasco sauce to mask the lack of flavor. Even then, we could not finish it.... If I say Domino's Pizza would have tasted 100 times better, I think you get my point. Don't go there unless you want to taste how bad a pizza can taste.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael8930, Owner at Durkin's Pizza, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Passionate about Pizza,
I have had several days to absorb your review and your subsequent comments and I will continue to implore you to give us another chance, or at the very least allow me to refund the full amount of your purchase. It is not an exaggeration to say that this has been on my mind relentlessly for the last couple of days and I'm unable to shake the stinging nature of your words. I simply feel that your experience was not anything close to what we are capable of, and for that I can't apologize enough. Again, please contact me on my cell phone at (214)850-9823 or via email, michael@durkinspizza.com so I can make the proper arrangements.

Thank you again for at least giving us a chance, and for reading this message.
Michael Durkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in McKinney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Great place we go to the one near Custer frequently. Service is always friendly and you can tell they actually ENJOY running a pizza joint! Great rock music and TX bottle beers.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durkin's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Durkin's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durkin's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.