We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best steaks ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
2801 Craig Dr, McKinney, TX 75070-4347
972-529-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 242 Restaurants in McKinney
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This restaurant has awesome service. The waiters/waitresses are soo attentive. Every detail is taken care of. The food is amazing especially the steaks!! Love the atmosphere, Been here for lunch and a very romantic evening dinner!! Very nice!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Unpleasant dinner experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Mean awful disrespectful food was cold and kept messing our orders and not kids friendly it wasn't like this be4

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go early for dinner special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We like to go for early dining specials. The steak and shrimp for $12.99 is good. On our last visit, we took my parents and our server was absolutely terrible. We didn't complain just left terrible tip. Our previous experiences have been much better. Cheesecake remains one of our best dessert experiences. I think saltgrass needs to revamp their bread. Outback and Cheesecake Factory have you beaten by miles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mckinney Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty steaks and desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent food variety and service. Try the great desserts.bar .
Steaks cooked as you desire.
Pork chops and chicken also.
I liked first visit and many times since in the past two years.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food, skip the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've been there a number of times before so I already knew I loved their fried mushrooms. Yep, I was right - still hot and juicy.

As good as the mushrooms and the rest of the food was, the wine servings were so tiny it made us laugh. I got there first and ordered a glass which was put down in front of me right before my friend arrived. There was only about 3 sips in the glass so I'm thinking she's going to think I downed a whole glass of wine in the few moments I was waiting for her. She apologized for making me wait (maybe worth the near empty wine glass). But hers arrives in the same condition and we laugh about it.

The food was great. I got the chopped steak and it really was flavorful - nice grill on it and juicy topped with chopped tomatoes, grilled onions, and cheddar. My friend got a gorgeous looking chicken salad with beautifully arranged rows of colorful toppings.

We were discussing some crazy family issues so another glass of wine was needed. Darn it, same 3 sips per glass. Pretty glass, though. We honestly weren't trying to get drunk but for
$7 a glass that seemed really wrong.

I will definitely go back for the good food which I really enjoyed and maybe just pass on the wine. I know they have to make a profit but there is a point where it gets silly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.