We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rates, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney)

Save Saved
You added Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney)
3401 N Central Expressway, North Central Expressway (exit 42), McKinney, TX 75071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in McKinney
McKinney, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable rates, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here several months, and was glad to have a room to come home to that was clean and safe. The staff is great, and always eager to help you. Having a kitchen makes life allot easier when you're trying to make ends meet. It's a blessing to have a place that charges reasonable rates with cable included and internet for a little more. There's a laundry room as well, so you don't have to leave the property to wash your clothes. It's located on the north side of town, with all kinds of places to go for entertainment and food. If you're staying for a week, or longer, this is the place you want to go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always love to hear guest feedback. I hope that you will think of Value Place again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

From the moment I checked in the staff made me feel at home. The wheelchair accessible room helped make life a lot easier to manage. The place is very clean, well maintained and always secure. But it all comes back to a complete staff that truly cares. This place is the BEST their is.t

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Value Place. We do have a caring staff who takes pride in keeping our property clean and safe. We hope that you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks against my better judgement but they will not refund you money once you pay. Don't know if you can see the photo of the roach in the lobby but that sets the tone for this location. Room was dirty when we got here. Stains on pillow cases, sticky table and stained chairs plus a nasty odor that was unpleasant. Asked for another room and security person, I wont name her, said she had to see the room. She gave me every excuse as to why the room was dirty and smelled; we have a new cleaning person and they arent so good. The smell in here is normal it's just that the AC is off. She was rude, apologied for nothing and would not change the room. I asked for money back and that's when she said no refunds. Odor never went away and we bought plug-ins to help with it. They shut off my web access despite renewing for a week so I couldn't work. Don't continue to give people to these bad people.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPRay175, Area Manager at Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your Feedback. We have regularly scheduled visits from a National Pest Control company and we take it very seriously. We use a 99 point checklist in a three phase process to make sure rooms are clean and ready for our guests. Our Property Managers personally take the time to inspect each room before guests check-in. We apologize that we did not provide you with a better stay. We are confident if you give us another try will we provide you with a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family and I have been here since Jan 2012. Due to me having a car wreck and losing my house. The best place to stay. The staff is awesome they take care of you. If something is wrong they fix it. If you need anything they let you have it or use it. For the prices it good. You have a kitchen and you still can cook. Its like you are away from home but when other people are cooking you can smell it in the halls. I have meet some really nice people that I will contunie to talk to outside of Value Place. The key cards is great and awesome that people cant find you if you dont want to be found. If I ever need a hotel again I know where my family will be going??? Thanks so much Mrs. LG.

Room Tip: The bottom floor is the best down by the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Value Place Property Management at Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that you will chose Value Place again if you are ever in need of a place to stay.

Thank you for the positive review. That's what we strive for every day.

Value Place Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

First off let me say that I travel extensively with my job and I stay at one location for weeks at a time. I have just recently discovered Value Place as an option to stay. Now at first I was thinking that the hotel might have been dirty or of low quality due to the name. I took a chance anyway because the price was outstanding. It turns out that this is a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was amazing. I was very surprised at how much the staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. I was put off by the fact that they did not have a coffee pot in the room, but once I was told that my stay was more like a smaller lease on an apartment I figured, when I rent an apartment it doesn’t come with a coffee pot, pots and pans so it didn’t bother me. Another thing that I liked was the fact that they have a security person on site at all times. All and all I will be back here again, and I would defiantly recommend this location to anyone looking for a great deal and a great stay.

Room Tip: If you want more space I would recomend getting the studio sleeper or the double room. Its a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Value Place Property Management at Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct, in many ways our rooms are like renting your own studio for a short time. But the good thing is we don't require any long term commitments!

We wish you well on your travels and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Value Place Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I complained to the front office Amanda about ant issues and asked each day if my room was sprayed. The room was never sprayed. Rooms are dirty. Front office staff are rude. Manager quit. Don't waste your money.

Trophy Club is the best!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here. Rooms are Dirty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I just had three members of the staff storm my front door because my window must be locked, or else I will get fined $25 a day. According to them, It's a safety issue. If my window is open more than five inches and isn't locked, I'm in some sort of danger. Never mind that my air conditioner hasn't worked for six months. The staff here isn't used to people who know what it is to rent an apartment or own a home.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or restaurant. rooms on the north side are next to John Deere, where work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Value Place Property Management at Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We take customer complaints very seriously. We have no record of a complaint of ants in any of our rooms. We have a protocol in place in the event that we get pests in our property. we absolutely want to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney)

Address: 3401 N Central Expressway, North Central Expressway (exit 42), McKinney, TX 75071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place McKinney is conveniently located off of N. Central Expressway at exit 42, just a short distance from Chestnut Square Historic Village and the North Texas History Center. McKinney was recently named one of the "Top 25 Places to Move" by Forbes magazine. If you enjoy the arts, be sure to check out the Garret Art Gallery or the Heard-Craig Center for the Arts. If you are in town during college baseball season be sure to attend a McKinney Marshals baseball game. The Dallas–Fort Worth region is the fourth largest metropolitan region in the country. Whether you’re coming to town for vacation, school, work, or just passing through, be sure to stop by Value Place McKinney. Once you arrive at our location, our friendly Value Place McKinney team will be happy to help you navigate around town. Just think of us as your guide to the McKinney area - from the best local restaurants and attractions to any driving directions you might need to get you there, we are here to make your stay at Value Place McKinney exceptional.Value Place is an extended stay hotel that meets every life traveler’s need for affordable, clean and secure, temporary lodging with our remarkably low weekly rates, rigorous cleanliness standards, total commitment to your comfort, privacy and peace of mind, and our just-right simplicity. Whether you’re traveling on business, pleasure, relocation, or just looking for a temporary base camp on your life’s journey, Value Place is your place.Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. To maintain a consistent guest experience at all of our properties we do have a No Pet Policy, except for service animals. Then we’ll show you to your guest room. It’s that easy. What to expect in your room Although Value Place offers several room choices, the essential features stay the same. You can always count on a simple but fully furnished studio with a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator and freezer, a microwave, a two-burner stovetop and plenty of cabinet space. You’ll also find two drinking cups, a trash bag, a roll of bathroom tissue and a bar of soap to get you started—because at Value Place, we figure you’d rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. If you do want to take advantage of the additional amenities and services we offer—from kitchen cookware to high-speed Internet—they’re available anytime for your convenience for a minimal fee. There’s only one thing guests never seem to be completely prepared for—how astonishingly clean our rooms are. What to expect in and around our building All Value Place properties are newly constructed from the ground up and electronically locked 24/7. That means no one can access our interior-corridor entrances without a valid key card. (No exterior room doors here like at most discount hotels or extended stay motels.) Featuring at least eight cameras and a very well lit parking lot, we keep your safety in and out of the building in mind. All public areas are cleaned daily—including our well-lit parking lot. Beyond our commitment to cleanliness and safety, we also offer vending machines and an onsite laundry room for your convenience. What to expect from our team You won’t find a friendlier team anywhere. Our helpful staff—from Studio Attendants to the Property Manager—will make sure your guest experience is a positive one, whether you need something for your room or directions to the closest car repair shop. At Value Place, you can expect courteous treatment from professionals who are committed to maintaining guest privacy and peace of mind. In fact, some team members live onsite to uphold our rigorous cleaning and safety standards. What to expect at every Value Place When it comes to Value Place, you don’t have to compete with anyone for that perfect apartment or hunt for the best hotel deal in town—we’re always the better choice. At your typical extended stay motel, discount hotel or other short-term housing solution, guests have to give up something that really matters. Not here. At Value Place you will always receive an affordable price in a Cleaner, Safer, Simpler, and Flexible property. We’re about living better through better value. And that makes us the smarter choice. Best of all? We promise a consistently positive guest experience at every Value Place you visit. Explore Value Place locations or make a reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.