We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet, and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dowell House c1870...a Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McKinney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dowell House c1870...a Bed & Breakfast
1104 S Tennessee St., McKinney, TX 75069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 McKinney B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Lovely, quiet, and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

My fiance and I spent the night at this bed & breakfast and truly enjoyed it. It was our first time to stay at a B&B, and we loved it. Our room was very romantic and the place was very quiet. Even though it is a historic home filled with antiques, it was really comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

A great getaway weekend! We were looking for somewhere local to visit and we chose McKinney for the new restaurants and shopping. We also wanted a B&B experience.
We couldn't have been more pleased with Dowell House.

  • Liked — The Hosts were amazing..room was delightful
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Wow! My stay at the Dowell house was fantastic. My wife and I were in town on business in McKinney and Dallas and decided to stay at the Dowell House for 4 nights.

The rooms and bathroom were immaculate and the grounds were very nice. Everything was so clean and well taken care of. My wife is very sensitive to this and thought the whole property was beautiful.

The hosts were friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. We have stayed in many B&B's and sometimes you feel sort of uncomfortable...well, not here. They prepared an elaborate and gourmet breakfast each morning that was delicious. Upon asking, they provided recommendations of activities in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Wonderful romantic getaway! The owners have been doing this for a long time and really know what they are doing. Wonderful wine served upon arrival in an atmosphere that is unbelievable!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dowell House c1870...a Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowell House c1870...a Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1104 S Tennessee St., McKinney, TX 75069
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, quiet and romantic, this bed and breakfast is close to shopping (outlet and antiques) and great restaurants. Rooms have queen beds, private baths and all amenities, including whirlpool baths or hot tubs. Fabulous full, candlelight breakfasts are served. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dowell House c1870...a Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dowell House c1870...a Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list