We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly good all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites McAllen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites McAllen to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites McAllen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Wichita Ave, McAllen, TX 78503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boerne, Texas
1 review
“Incredibly good all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been going to McAllen 1-2 times a month for the last year and we had never stayed or even heard about this hotel. We stayed there becuase the hotel we usually stay at was apparently full and then had changed their prices (raised their rate). So we started looking on TripAdvsior and read the reviews for this hotel and chose this one. The rate was a little higher than what we normally paid before, but we really had to be in McAllen and decided to take a chance. We made a very good decsion and we are very happy we found this hotel. The hotel is beautiful inside and out from the time we drove in to the parking lot until the second we entered our room. Small little kitchens, full size fridge and a large microwave. The room is bigger than other hotel rooms and definitely bigger than the hotel we were staying at before. The breakfast has great variety and well manged with the selection and variety. Two of the nights that we were there they had an evening happy hour and provided hamburgers and hot dogs (my husband enjoyed the cold beer, I myself enjoyed a glass of wine). The staff is great and they really make you feel at ease and they are always attentive to your needs. We found a new hotel and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The entire staff was excited to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, hotel and staff. We really do try hard to make every guest feel at home and we are glad to hear that was the case for you. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
9
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The entire staff at this hotel is genuinely nice and really cares about the customer. They made us feel like we were staying with friends and we were only there for two days. Everyone smiles at you at the front desk or in the hallways. The room was exceptionally well mantained and cleaned. Most hotels do a good job of cleaning their rooms, but this room was cleaned and sanitized. We do not travel to that area often, but if we do return to the RGV we know where we will be staying. Oh and the breakfast is also very good and is better than your normal express breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really appreciate the kind words and even happier to kow that your time with us even though it was short was a great experience. We look forward to your return and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I couldn't find before a better place until I found this one thanks to Trip Advisor. I had the misfortune to stay at an old dated, grumpy management, pest infected and worst odor place known as THE TEXAN GUEST RANCH. What a difference, the management here is super nice. They have the laid back attitude that sits well in the country but still all the commodities of a city. Nice up dated furniture, big TV with DVD, a business center with free local faxes and 800 numbers not like the other that they don't have anything like this and to use their fax they charge you a whopping 2.00 x page no matter if is local or to a free number. Way to go upper RGV, you'll be seeing me more often. OH and this has breakfast plus kitchenettes.

Room Tip: I like been close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The entire staff appreciates your feedback and we are glad to know that you now have a place to stay when you visit McAllen. We look forward to your next stay with us and we will do our best to make sure that you have another great stay. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Thank you, Juan and James, front desk, for responding to my multiple requests. They remain professional and accommodating. Housekeeping was less than questionable. Hallway was not cleaned and remained unkept with debris, broken candy pieces, candy wrappers, soiled laundry strings, food particles, etc. and the elevator had trash in it for "four days straight" until I told James about the condition of the hotel. Within hours, the hallway was vacuumed. My room had a clothing purchase ticket on the carpet near the bed, and a collection of cleaning rag debris in the corners on the bathroom counter. Human hairs were in the tub and on the floor in the corners in the bathroom area. Drinking glass had fingerprints on it. The housekeeping staff desperately needs a refresher course. James was embarrassed by the complaint but took steps to correct it. Thank you, James and Juan, for multi-tasking to meet the requests of the guests.

Room Tip: Upon arrival, check the cleanliness of the room. Housekeeping needs immediate training.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review for our hotel. While we were glad to see that you enjoyed Juan and James' great hospitality we were saddened by the cleanliness issues in our public areas and your suite. It is unacceptable for anyone to ever have to endure that type of cleanliness issues in their suite and then have to deal with the same type of mess in the public areas. I can assure you that we do not take this lightly and the departments involved have already been made aware of this review and are working to ensure this does not happen again. We take great pride in delivering great customer service to our guests and providing a clean and comfortable room/hotel for everyone to enjoy. We may have failed you on this occassion, but we will make this right and we will continue to improve these deficiencies so that when you return next time you can enjoy a clean and comfortable hotel with great customer service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had another enjoyable stay at the Staybridge Suites in McAllen. The location is perfect for business in and around the city. It is always a pleasure to stay in a property where the staff are so friendly and helpful.

The evening socials were very nice at this Staybridge and the food fresh and plentiful. The breakfasts were well tended and quite satisfactory. The room was clean, well-lit, and everything in good repair.

I am always pleased when I stay multiple times at the same property and see such consistency. Well done. I'll see you again soon!

P.S. Good job on shortening the Internet password!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. The entire staff takes a lot of pride in what we do and we strive to maintain that type of consistency day in and day out. We always listen to our guests and we try to keep up with their requests so we understood that the internet password in the past was not the best, so we modified that as quickly as we could. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I travel quite a bit and stay frequently at Staybridge Suites in the USA and this is the best one I have stayed in yet! It is so clean and the staff extremely friendly. The quality of the food is the best of all the others I have eaten at. The food is always fresh and there is takeout bags for those who want their breakfast on the go. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a home away from home in McAllen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. We really appreciate those comments from a "Road Warrior" like yourself. Our staff will love hearing this feedback and will continue to understand the positive impact of great service all the time. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Extended stay hotels are usually very basic, appointed very plainly, and don't excite. This Staybridge is far from that. We normally stay at the Holiday Inn Express down the road, but they were booked up so we decided to try the Staybridge. This Staybridge has a very nice lobby, the staff was top-notch, and the rooms were fantastic. I stayed in a king suite two room suite. The bathroom is set up as a shower/toilet room with a separate sink and closet room. The king "bedroom" had a nice LCD TV and spare outlet on each side of the bed. The living room/kitchenette room had the same TV as the besroom, a couch with coffee table, desk, and large countertop/table area. Plenty of outlets to plug in all of my gizmos. The rooms were very clean. I have nothing negative to say about my stay, this is an impressive extended stay hotel, and probably the only one I have ever stayed at that I would recommend for a first option single night stays. When you get into your room make sure to check the calendar on the fridge, this will tell you the what the nightly snack is in the lobby,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Staybridge Suites in McAllen. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and then even more exciting to pass along that feedback to our Team. We thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to be your choice hotel in McAllen and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites McAllen

Address: 620 Wichita Ave, McAllen, TX 78503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites McAllen Offers Guests the Utmost in Comfort and Convenience. Ideally situated near McAllen International Airport, Staybridge Suites McAllen is in close proximity to the University of Texas Pan-Am and the McAllen Medical Center. This upscale, extended stay hotel in McAllen offers comfortable accommodations near noteworthy area attractions and major businesses. Extended stay guests of our pet friendly McAllen accommodations enjoy visiting the Basilica of Our Lady de San Juan and Bentsen-Rio Grande Valley State Park. Exciting events at the Dodge Arena and the McAllen Convention Center are also less than five miles away. Business travelers appreciate our McAllen, TX lodgings near corporations and maquiladoras, such as Panasonic, Black and Decker and TRW. In order to best accommodate our guests' business needs, over 200 sq. ft. of meeting space and free high-speed Internet access is also available on-site. During your stay, spacious suites with full-service kitchens, an outdoor pool and hot tub, a 24-hour Business Center, a well-equipped Fitness Center and complimentary laundry services are provided for your convenience. In the morning, we encourage you to visit our free, daily breakfast buffet, and, in the evening, we invite you to join us for community-oriented Sundowner Receptions. As you plan your trip, be sure to explore our excellent McAllen hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites McAllen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.