We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service and plenty of options.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Palenque

Taco Palenque
1000 S 10th St, McAllen, TX 78501
(956) 994-8950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 382 Restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quick service and plenty of options.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Taco Palenque on North 10th seems to be a more pleasant experience for my taste. Be sure to ask for extra tortillas if you need more (they are complimentary.) There's a hearty salsa bar too (cucumbers, cabbage, pico, fresh onion & cilantro, jalapenos, and more!) You can serve up a refreshing agua de jamaica with your meal and sit back and enjoy. In the evenings, you can count on locals coming by with their guitar offering to play a tune for a tip. There is a play area for the kids which always makes me cringe because it's kind of obscure... but if you are sitting nearby, the kids will be within view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weslaco, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't expect any sort of Mexican Taco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Greasey. They do not make a Mexican Taco or antojito of any description. The menu is a hybrid of Tex-Mex & the heavy, predominately meat & flour tortilla dishes known to the Rio Grande Valley. They DO provide aguas frescas, e.g. jamaica & horchata, and a large, open, complimentary salsa bar. The seating and lighting are those of a fast-food restaurant. Cleanliness appeared to be an afterthought on all occasions my husband dragged me to this establishment. I would prefer a street vendor to this any day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isabel, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Its a nice looking place, the food is great. Location is good. Variety of menu items is good. I like the condiment station. Haven't been here in a while.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quick service & delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband & I love to stop here for a quick lunch date. Also, we have frequented many times with my family over the years. Prices are reasonable when compared to the quality/quantity of the food. Best fajitas you can find in McAllen, according to my husband. They also have vegetarian options if you're looking like migas con huevo a la mexicana. Fresh salsa bar & chip station. Such a good place with good breakfast taco special as well. You must try this place before you leave the Rio Grande Valley! Though I know there are also locations in San Antonio. Oh, the wait time is nearly non-existent as they are very efficient with the delivery of your food. They are also open 24 hours a day & 365 days a year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Expensive for "fast food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a combo plate (beef fajita meat, crispy taco, enchilada, rice and beans). With a corona was almost $20! Was recommended by several locals. The food was good but the look and feel of the restaurant was fast food, so the bill seemed pricey compared to my expectation when I arrived.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Palenque also viewed

 

Been to Taco Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Palenque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.