We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite sushi in the RGV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Sushi & Hibachi

Kobe Sushi & Hibachi
5025 W Expressway 83, Ste 100, McAllen, TX 78503
(956) 687-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 376 restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi in the RGV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The sushi here is amazing! It has become my favorite sushi place in the valley. My boyfriend and I like to go with his parents and we usually order a lot of different dishes and share. We usually start off with a sunomono salad ($7) and rock shrimp appetizer ($9) (both are good, solid choices). Then we follow it up with a few rolls. Our favorites are: the Magical Roll ($12), the Out Of Control Roll ($13), and the Dynamite Roll ($12) and we finish our meal with miso soup ($2.50) all around. The food is delicious and consistent. The service is good. The decor is trendy.

The only thing that could make the experience even better would be if the restaurant could use smaller plates to plate the sushi. The reason being that the tables are kind of small and the plates the sushi is served on are so big that if you order a few rolls at a time (like we like to do) you end up feeling crowded and having to shuffle things around constantly to try to make everything fit and so that everyone can get to all the rolls. It's a small inconvenience, but if they can fix this, it would go a long way to make the customer experience more pleasant.

Overall, great place for a special occasion, or an intimate family outing. By far, the best sushi I've had in the valley in a long time. I would definitely recommend this place! Go! Eat! Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    5
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best sushi in the RGV!!! Staff is great and food is amazing!! Very unique dishes with unique flavors!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white stone, virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Hibachi Special is a great buy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were hungering for something different and Japanese cuisine choices in McAllen are limited. Kobe had the best reputation, based on some of our preliminary reviews, so we went there. We chose the hibachi grill because not everyone in our party likes sushi. We had a little bit of a wait, since they like to fill up the hibachi table, which is the only reason we couldn't give five stars. The food is good here and was done in typical hibachi fashion, with a few little tricks. But while the "show" is interesting, the star is the food. The best buy on the menu is the hibachi special - 2 orders for $29 for both orders, not the pair. You can choose from steak, chicken or shrimp. We thought portion size might be reduced to accommodate the lower price - price for a single order was $21 - $24. But you got a full portion of meat, vegetables and rice. Bottom line - good food, pleasant atmosphere, good service (subject to the wait mentioned above). And order the $29 special for two - well worth the money!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sushi was amazing and wait staff were super friendly. Best sushi in the valley! Bar has Full array of drinks and very tasty sake. Appetizers were unique and delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Visted with some business associates. Was a little surprised because this place was not busy at all on a Monday night at 6:30? We sat down and waitress was very attentive, took drink order and brought us the normal soup and salad. I had the filet and chicken combo which was very good, probably one of the better hibachi meals I have had. Chef was good with his knife and show. I thought dinner was a little expensive. $180.00 for 4 with one drink and tip. Would recommend other than price !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Sushi & Hibachi also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Sushi & Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Sushi & Hibachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.