We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fusion of Food and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House Wine and Bistro

House Wine and Bistro
1117 West Business 83 McAllen, McAllen, TX 78501
956 994 8331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
House Wine and Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 382 Restaurants in McAllen
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: N/A
Description: house. wine. & bistro. offers 130 wines by the glass, bottle or case. Our extensive list of wine features a heterogeneous collection of vintage and contemporary wines from diverse regions. House Wine & Bistro offers a lunch and dinner with a variety of flavors ranging from light and tasty hors d’oeuvres to hearty lunch and dinner fare. house. wine. & bistro. also offers a bridal registry, custom gift baskets, private parties and catering services. House Wine & Bistro can accommodate and host lunch and dinner meetings and of course gift cards are always available. Larry and Jessica enjoy helping to plan the perfect rehearsal dinner, baby shower, office function or intimate evening with friends and family.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fusion of Food and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

In addition to the excellent selection of wine, this restaurant opened by two relocated Austinites has a menu to rival anything in the funky eclectic town of Austin.

Chef's signature dishes are always delicious with locally produced fare, (when possible) and recipes but together on the spot, depending on what's on hand. This anchored by standard menu items like Chicken Carbonara makes House Wine and excellent dining choice.

The atmosphere is laid back and yet chic. A great place for that special date or celebration. Sitting is limited so best to get there early, especially on a weekend night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After driving past for a few days, we decided to give it a try. It didn't look like much on the outside... but so glad we took a chance on this place! The service was wonderful, the food was amazing (soup, yahweh salad, tarragon risotto) as was the wine selection. The live music that started partway through the evening was a pleasant surprise... talented singer, great song selection, and the volume was at a good level: could hear the music but didn't have to shout to each other to be heard). Look forward to my next trip to McAllen, and to House. Wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Dropped by Housewine for dinner. After a day of flying, crowded airport, checking into hotel drove to Housewine at 8:30. It was packed so I sat at the bar. Sat next to this awesome young hip chic and her male friend. Ordered pasta primavera, bartender recommended chicken, but am vegetarian. Hip chic recommended a portobello mushroom. Also had whole wheat pasta option. Vinho Verde wine, great company, awesome portobello pasta primavera, great music. Awesome atmosphere in McAllen. Great evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The wine selection is great!
food is good! and service as well. one thing I didn't like is the restroom problem is unisex. I don't like that but it won't stop me for going back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant with lovely decor and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to house.wine with a large group of 7 people on a Monday night without reservations. They were able accomodate us quickly. The restaurant is very nicely decorated with different seating areas and table configurations. There was a live singer in the corner of the dining room. He was very good but blended into the ambiance rather than took it over. They have a unique wine selection that cannot be found in your average wine store. Both the red and white wines were very good and we looked all over town to purchase one to take home with us. We started off with Grilled Panela which was an in-house made cheese, grilled and topped with roasted red peppers and pesto. We also had the Prosciutto wrapped local shrimp and the Garlic-Lime local shrimp. The shrimp was so fresh and tender that it was obvious it was recently caught and handled properly. All of the appetizers were excellent. I have never had Panela cheese which is very similar to mozarella cheese but was cut into squares. Our entrees ranged from lamb, to risottos to Ahi tuna. All of the portions were large and everyone enjoyed their meals enormously. A couple people enjoyed a couple special chocolate desserts that were very decadant and delicious. Overall the service was excellent and the food was even better! As much as I don't like to travel I can't wait to go back to McAllen to have dinner at house.wine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Wine and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to House Wine and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Wine and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.