We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavaria in the Rio Grande Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schneider's German Gasthaus & Beergarden

Schneider's German Gasthaus & Beergarden
5507 N Ware Rd, McAllen, TX 78504
956-242-0335
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 382 Restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Rock Island, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bavaria in the Rio Grande Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The second we stepped into the gasthaus, we were transported to Bavaria! They offer German biers, authentic German foods. Even the salads look like the ones we've eaten in Germany. Portions are huge! Expect to take home half for another meal. My husband ordered Jager schnitzel, one friend ordered pepper schnitzel, another the pork loin. I ordered the goulash. Every bite was delicious. For dessert, they brought us a gigantic piece of peach cobbler with mounds of whipped cream and a scoop of ice cream with four forks. They have limited hours--Wednesday through Saturday, 5pm-10pm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great backyard patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good German food & great German beer. Be sure to try a beer or two at the bar located in their backyard patio. The bartender plays German Music on the stereo system outside...pretty awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place To Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were looking for a place to go for an anniversary dinner. Checked trip advisor and chose Schneider's because of their great reports. We were very pleased. Reservation was handled well, service and food was great. Enjoyed the German draft beer. It was a nice evening, so we sat in the outdoor area. This was clean and pleasant. We will be back!

Correct spelling is;
Schneider's German Gasthaus & Beer Garden

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

All the food here is great and generous servings. Beer is good and cold. We will keeping going. Be sure to check their hours and days open before you go. They stay busy but do take reservations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent German cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great place; glad we found it. Service was prompt and friendly. The selection of German beers was pretty good. The food was great! The bratwurst and sauerkraut with mashed potatoes, tomaten-kasse schnitzel (tomatoes and cheese sauce over a breaded pork cutlet), and the rouladen (minced ham and pickles and spices rolled in a piece of beef and roasted) with red cabbage and dumplings - all were excellent. The dessert menu looked good, but the beer and the entrees were too filling to allow for dessert. Would visit again and explore the other menu options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schneider's German Gasthaus & Beergarden also viewed

 

Been to Schneider's German Gasthaus & Beergarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schneider's German Gasthaus & Beergarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.