We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drury Inn, McAllen a great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn McAllen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn McAllen to your Saves list
Drury Inn McAllen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   612 West Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in McAllen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Drury Inn, McAllen a great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not the fanciest or newest but has everything you need and more. Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and comfy, good breakfast plus an evening light meal including DRINKS. We spent 10 days there in January and a week last year...very pleased!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
6
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean low cost hotel with good service (free breakfast and happy hour). The work-out "facility" only has a treadmill and a bike. Few resturants nearyby to walk to...but some are a quick 5-10 min drive.

This was booked through my companies travel team, if traveling for business I would not recommend staying here; however, if it was my own money and I needed a quick, safe, cheap and clean place I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

By far the best value. A clean, comfortable room. AdAlso had a nice breakfast plus evening food and drinks and unlimited soda and coffee until 10PM. A very nice fitness center. The staff was friendly and courteous. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I come to McAllen every week on business and stay here. I have tried most hotels in the area and this one is by far the best. They have excellent customer service as well as other perks. They serve a buffet style breakfast in the morning which is very good and also have dinner/snacks/drinks in the evening for free. The rooms are also very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an older hotel, but it was pretty clean. The breakfast was ample and there was a wide selection. Apparently, this plus the price of the motel makes it popular with families. There were lots of kids and they were everywhere--including the exercise room. When I inquired about the age restrictions, the clerk said that he would boot the kids out because they were under 18.. The kids were back the next night, so I didn't bother to go in. If you like things like having white towels white, go elsewhere. The towels were all grayish. If you like fluffy toilet paper, go elsewhere. This is a motel where families can get more bang for their buck. The drawing card for us was that we took our two small dogs along and they allowed pets without charging extra. Next time we are boarding the dogs and paying more for the extra comfort. If you want breakfast, dinner, snacks and you're taking the kids and the dog, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with two full-sized beds. The room was small and the bathroom tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at the Drury Inn, in McAllen Texas on the first week of March 2012 with my wife and two children. If you get to register before 7 pm, you will get complimentary snacks, soda, and beer! I know many hotels that offer a happy hour (2x1), but few that offer Very Happy two hours (complimentary snacks and drinks including beer!)
Our room was very spacious, clean, and had strong WiFi signal.
The hotel is located right on Highway 83, just across the “street“ from the Medical Center. There is a Shoneys (All you can eat) dinner buffet next door that we found ok, for $6.99
You can also order pizza to your room, if you like.
This hotel has a very clean swimming pool that my children enjoyed.
The hotel also offers complimentary hot breakfast. On weekends, you have to go there early (before 8am) to secure a table, and avoid long lines. The busiest lines you will find them at the waffles station.
I recommend this place to any family traveling with children, to any business traveler, and to those people wanting to be staying close to the McAllen Medical Center.
I hope this review is helpful. Happy trails!

Room Tip: Check in by 5 pm to take advantage of the happy hours! Complimentary snacks and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

An excellent overall experience. Free wi-fi, clean rooms, attentive and friendly service, ample parking, free breakfast (with lots to choose from), free dinner (with lots to choose from and adult beverages), and late night popcorn and soda. It's like staying with the grandparents!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn McAllen

Address: 612 West Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Known as the “Texas Tropics”, snowbirds, golf enthusiasts and nature lovers alike head to McAllen! Conveniently located off I-83, the Drury Inn offers easy access to McAllen’s must-see attractions, including the Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge and Museum of South Texas History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Mcallen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn McAllen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.