We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want some great mexican food this is the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palenque Grill

Palenque Grill
606 E Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501
956-994-8181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 382 Restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“if you want some great mexican food this is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

best finger ribs in Texas - great service -consistantly clean - and some live (guitars) music to boot

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, live guitar playing, but food just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

While visiting McAllen, TX on business we tried dinner here and were, unfortunately, for the most part disappointed. Keep in mind that there are many (what I consider) above average Mexican restaurants in the NY area, which is where my experience and comparison come from. This atmosphere and decor are nicely done and feel authentic. There is plentiful and friendly staff. There were two men playing traditional guitar music which was especially nice as it was some distance from our table (I never really like when they play on top of patrons). I had the Entomatadas which are chicken enchiladas in a tomato sauce served with rice and beans. It was just mediocre. My colleague had the Chicken Fajitas and was very disappointed. At home these are typically served still sizzling in the pan with numerous accompaniments. These were already on the plate and had limited extras to go along. The sangria was also quite "strange" as it was lemonade (the waiter told us this) with red wine poured on top which stays separated until it is mixed with the straw. This is nothing like any variety of sangria I have seen or tasted in NY, Mexico, or even Spain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant was clean and the staff was nice, but the food was disapointing. I never heard of Sangra being made by mixing red wine and lemonade. The chicken fajita was bland with no sautéed vegetables. Maybe its a regional thing. I've had better Mexican food on Long Island, NY

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican, best margaritas, best everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Service and food here are always top notch. We try and get the same waiter (Nevin) that we've had for years, as he's the best. He always hugs and kisses my wife on the cheek (cultural tradition here), and is always very happy to see us. He treats us as though we are his family.

The food is incredible. What made me fall for the place is the free bean and chorizo dip that they give with chips and salsa. . .that stuff is majorly addictive. Everything we've ever had there has been great. We've never had a bad meal there.

The only warning I would give is to eat before 9 if you want to eat in a less noisy environment. This place is very, very popular (for good reason), so when it fills up, it gets noisy. It's an open dining room with booths against the walls, so it can get loud. Plus, they have mariachis there (always good), so that adds to the noise. Us, we love everything there: the food, the service, the noise, and the margaritas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“looking for authentic mexican food - try here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

they have a wide selection of foods - the grilled beef ribs are some of the best i have ever eaten. they serve chips and salsa & bean dip with the every meal and you will ask for more.
well worth the trip

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palenque Grill also viewed

 

Been to Palenque Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palenque Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.