We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wiley College

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wiley College
Marshall, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Marshall
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1873, this was the site of higher education for African Americans.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I Love This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a wonderful school for those looking for a nice education at a friendly and family-oriented atmosphere. I have been back to speak to the student body, and would return whenever called.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Great Debaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The campus is beautiful, small but filled with collegiate atmosphere. No large institution hustling and bustle, I will bet the student know each other by name.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heercules, CA
2 reviews
“The best time I've had in ages happened at Wiley College.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The people were extremely nice and I was honored to attend the dedication of the new Haywood Strickland Living and Learning Center. The way the mayor and community came out to support the college was fabulous. I want to come back every year!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marshall College”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Marshall is a great college with excellent facilities and a great student body and staff. The President is a great leader and inspiration.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Family Vacation and Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This oldest historical black college west of the Mississippi. It is the home of the "Great Debaters" movie which starred Densel Washington. It is full exciting history and many places to visit on this campus. it is centrally located and family centered. Easy touring and students and staff are very friendly. nice place to visit.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wiley College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiley College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.