We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Tasty Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Interstate 20 E, Marshall, TX 75670   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Marshall
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Tasty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was in town for a 1 night stay. The hotel staff was polite & helpful during Check-in (which was quick) as well as checkout.

The breakfast was tasty and there was a good variety of items to choose from. The attendant did a great job of keeping it well stocked/ maintained.

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We take great pride in our hotel and what we offer. I've shared your comments with all of the staff, especially the Breakfast Hostess.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
11
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here while doing business in Marshall. It has been awhile since I stayed here and it all came back to me when I got into room. Loud, loud and did I mention Loud. I remembered that I usually stayed at the Hampton Inn (no rooms available).

I could of stayed at the Motel 6 next door and faired better. This hotel seems like the party hotel.
I love the Holiday Inn's that I normally stay in and I am a diamond member, but this one doesn't meet the criteria of most Holiday Inn's I stay in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear TX4Ever42,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us because of the loud noise. I want to assure you that this is not our standard. We want our guest to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is the frequent home to an oilfield crew that is allowed to walk up and down the halls being loud and drinking beer. The hotel staff turns a blind eye because this crew has a lot of rooms booked. It does eventually get quite when they pass out. If you are traveling with young children and do not want them exposed to profanity and drunks then you might want to stay somewhere else. If you are traveling on business bring some earphones to use while you work to drown out the party in the background. I travel and stay in hotels 100 days or more a year and this by far is the only time I have stayed at one that allows this behavior. I have stayed at this hotel many times and this crew is here almost every time I have stayed.

Room Tip: If you stay try to get a room at the back of the hotel. Since this hotel is very close to the I20 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear EnergyNomad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise created by the other guest. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had no issues sleeping, the bed was comfy, and the tv was nice. I do wish there had been a mini fridge, but it wasn't a deal breaker. Room was nice and cold. Overall, the room was fresh and clean. I did notice a little mildew in the tub drain as well as the sink drain. We did get lost because our gps took us somewhere completely different. So, a warning, google map it instead haha! Breakfast was hot and yummy. Best pancake machine ever!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roaming...
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet and we slept great! No issues. The breakfast was hot and yummy with a great selection. We love the 1 minute pancake maker. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We travel a lot and stay in this brand often. They're a "cut above" chain and very nicely appointed with slightly larger rooms and just a little more attention to detail. This one is no exception. The lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful as we've grown to expect at HIE. The only thing I'll agree about that others have stated in their reviews is the road noise level is louder than comfortable for many. I sleep like a log so it didn't bother me but it definitely bothered my wife and she rarely complains about noise. It could be the back side of the hotel is better. I checked the internet connection and we're getting about 3.5 MBPS which is about typical for most good hotels where we've checked it. And it's plenty fast enough unless you are downloading movies or something. So if they've had a problem with it in the past I'd say it's fixed now.

If we stay here again we'll try to get a room further away from the road and leave the AC fan set on run so the "white noise" can drown out the road noise.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Try a room further away from the road and set the AC fan switch to run to help drown out the road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed one night in a suite . This hotel is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in! The check-in was nice and efficient. Room was clean; towels were clean (No make-up stains); A/C worked great; different choices of pillows, breakfast was hot and a good quality; TV worked great and remote worked; kids had no problems with internet connection. We did not use the business center; pool or work-out room so can't comment on those.

Room Tip: Suite on North side was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences! We're always looking for feedback from how we are doing, and positive feedback is the best! Thanks again for sharing your review, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall

Address: 500 Interstate 20 E, Marshall, TX 75670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marshall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Marshall near the Josey Ranch. Our Marshall, TX hotel is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.Families looking for lodging in Marshall, Texas will love staying at our hotel, located just off I-20 at Highway 59, with close proximity to the educational institutes of ETBU, Wiley College and Texas State Tech. This Marshall, TX hotel is convenient to numerous local attractions, including the Josey Ranch, Caddo Lake, the Starr Family State Historical Site and our world-renowned pottery stores. Other sights and activities include the Riverboat Casinos in Shreveport-Bossier, a historic downtown and many yearly festivals.Business travelers will be impressed by the comforts of our Marshall, Texas accommodations. Situated in a suburban area, we offer you easy access to several large companies, such as the Marshall Courthouse, Weatherford, Martex Drilling Company, Nomac and the Marshall pottery manufacturers. Our Marshall, TX hotel also provides a Business Center with computer access, fax, copy and printing services and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access.While you are lodging in Marshall, TX, you can enjoy our amenities including a convenient Sweets Shop, an outdoor pool, a patio with grills and the free hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Marshall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.