We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most popular restaurant in Marshall for a reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Tex

Cajun Tex
104 West Grand Ave, Suite 500, Marshall, TX 75670
903.935.7719
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Most popular restaurant in Marshall for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the place that all the locals will tell you to hit if you move here (I know, because I did a couple months ago). Although it's far from fancy, they have a diverse menu of tasty choices that are a good introduction to basic cajun food. I especially enjoy the crawfish pies, the crab bisque, and the banana pudding. I'm not sure if all of those are on the standard menu, but they appear as specials frequently. In fact, I don't think I've ever ordered off the regular menu because the specials always look tasty.

One important warning -- the parking situation is less than good, and this place is very popular with the locals. If you come at a peak time, be prepared to look for parking on side streets and walk, because the lot is nowhere near big enough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny H, Owner at Cajun Tex, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. To show our appreciation , print this message and bring it in for 15% off your next bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    15
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Texas
1 review
“Great Place to Eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Cajun Tex is my favorite place to eat. Thier Southwest Chicken is the best with thier loading mashed potatoes. Staff is friendly and the food is always hot. Always look forward to coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We got a recommendation at the reception of our hotel.

They serve local food that tastes truly fantastic.

The service personnel was great. The owner came around and we had a great chat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth leaving Louisiana for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm from Louisiana so I can get Cajun food much closer to home, but whenever I'm in Marshall, Cajun Tex tops my list of places to eat. It's easy to get to (W. Grand is Hwy 80), the staff is friendly, the service is fast, and the food is terrific. The ordering process is deli-style from the counter, but the charming waitresses bring the food to your table, several of which are old-school family size picnic tables. The atmosphere is fun and family-friendly, prices are reasonable, and everything I've tried has been flavorful and filling.

They also support local and regional musicians with live music performances in the evenings. It's a great place to get together with friends, to take the family, or to start date night with some live music and excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Its not often you get a good mom & pop place but I would have to say, Cajun Tex comes second to none! The restaurant is family owned. The main owner is always in the kitchen side by side with the cooks and staff. The waitresses are very sweet and have southern charm you can't find anywhere else.

The food is always hot. Not heat lamp hot, but fresh out the fryer hot. My favorite dish is the boneless wing meal with blue cheese. My daughter and I always sit outside on the beautiful patio. Its also located right next to downtown which makes it a great pit stop during the Christmas lights and car shows.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Tex also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Tex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cajun Tex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.