We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Atmosphere, and Catering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Tex

Cajun Tex
104 West Grand Ave, Suite 500, Marshall, TX 75670
903.935.7719
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 restaurants in Marshall
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Waskom, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Atmosphere, and Catering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have been dining at Cajun Tex for years and have NEVER had a bad meal. We love the selections. The burgers are to die for, the salads delicious and their daily specials are always yummy. Cajun Tex also catered a 50th Anniversary Party for our parents in July 2011. We so so impressed. Great attention to detail, wonderful service and the food excellent. We had guests from as far away as Germany and everyone raved about their meals. We are so fortunate to have a restaurant of this level in Marshall.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    41
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a try in Marshall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

In town visiting with family. Saw that Cajun Texas was #2 and decided we would give it a try. Pretty impressed. Great food and a lot to choose from on the menu. Texas size servings--very large burgers. I had the hot wings and garlic fries which are really good.
The only thing I would change is the description of items on the menu. Some of the names are a bit odd and it would help to have a more "descriptive" title that everyone not familiar with Cajun fare would know instead having to ask the person taking your order, "what is this or that"?
The atmosphere is okay and the evening we visited there was live music playing and the customers seemed to enjoy it. It was take out for us.
Would visit Cajun Tex again and would recommend to anyone wanting something different in a town that does not have a lot to offer in the way of restaurants and bars.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stumbled in here by accident on Saturday night. Live blues (normally friday night i think), crawfish, gumbo. the whole gig. try it.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome - great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

If you're visiting Marshall, Texas you must try Cajun Tex. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but wow! The food was great with lots of unusual options. My family all ordered different things and we passed our plates around. Every one of us liked every dish. On top of that the service was spectacular. They were under-staffed that day (and packed) but the staff were busting their butts to serve us quickly and to make us fell welcome. It was the best dining experience of our trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cajun Tex -a bit of Louisiana and Texas near the border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Johnny Horne has a great place! Johnny worked for Steak and Ale, later to become Oxford Street, in Shreveport, before opening Cajun Tex in Marshall. It's hard to say which is better - his Cajun dishes or his Tex dishes. And it's definitely family-friendly - in fact, much of staff on any given night consists of Johnny's family and friends. The Po-boys are great, served on crusty French bread; he even has alligator! His blackened rib-eye sandwich can't be beat. And his salad bar sits in an authenitc pirogue. He's also started to have live music on Friday nights. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Tex also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Tex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cajun Tex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.