We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cosmico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cosmico
Save
You added El Cosmico to your Saves list
802 S. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For three nights I stayed at the El Cosmico campground in Marfa, TX. It is a quite, easy-going campground close to Marfa's nr 1 attraction, the Chinati foundation (and to Marfa Burritos!). You can choose between bring-your-own-tent-camping, scout tents, Tipis or wonderful Trailers. I picked the "Little Pinky", perfect choice for one Person, great for a couple (if they like eachother a lot!). Small kitchen, Espresso maker, fridge, tuner, candles and a van. No A/C, but since it gets colder during the nights that was ok. Shower and toilet right next to the trailer, but that was okay for me, everything very clean and simple.
So, if you decide to come all the way to this wonderful city and you like it a bit different (you can ALWAYS stay in a Hotel/Motel) - go for it! Buy some food and beer, listen to Marfa public Radio (93.5) and just watch the stars in the sky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I pitched my tent here for 3 days. The campground isn't very atmospheric, but I liked the price. They need more trees! There are only two showers and toilets which are combined, so if there is a lot of campers, it can be a bit of a wait. I used this as a base camp for exploring the Davis mountains, Big Bend and the surrounding area. Didn't have the camping camaraderie at night that I was hoping for--perhaps this happens more in the high season. Nights were nice and cool for sleeping--even in Texas in July!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

i'm so glad that i got to experience El Cosmico and Marfa, TX. i was able to sleep in both the safari tent and the teepee. i'll have to return for the restored RV experience. liz lambert did an excellent job!

- well-kept, clean campground
- great service/management
- outdoor bathrooms/showers
- excellent bedding provided- i was cozy and warm at night.

i have no complaints for this place.

Marfa is a small, sleepy town with so much charm and beauty. (but i recommend going from Thur/Fri and on and to check business hours)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We camped here on a trip to West Texas - my friend's first night in a tent! - and it was a fantastic experience. The outdoor showers and claw-foot bathtub are awesome. I met some pretty interesting folks while brushing my teeth at the outdoor sink! Coffee on the patio in the morning was excellent, a cold beer during the late afternoon was even better. The staff was friendly, chatty, and helpful.
I've heard some folks dismiss El Cosmico as a haven for hipsters - don't let it's rep deter you from visiting. It's a great place, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Made it into the Best Hotels of the WORLD Book! A hoot to camp there. We had a tent. But there are vintage trailers, tents on platforms, teepees you can "camp" in. Inside and outside toilets. Outdoor showers, outdoor sink with big mirror. Enough about facilities--the people are also really nice. They sell ice and gifts and some snacks. Marfa is a neat place--hipsters stay at El Cosmico. Stuffier people seem to stay at El paisano hotel in town. El Cosmico can't be beat. Check it out at http://elcosmico.com/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I booked El Royal trailer at El Cosmico and absolutely loved it! It was spacious, comfortable, and fun to be in. The queen sized bed had very comfortable pillows and a soft down cover. The toilet was tiny but clean and efficient. The kitchen had a full-sized electric stove, enough counterspace to work on, and a tiny refrigerator. The kitchen supplies were a little limited (one single pan and one pot, no cutting board or knives, no serving platters or utensils) but covered the basics. Be sure to bring EVERYTHING you are going to eat and drink, including salt, pepper, and sugar. Providing coffee and a stove top peculator was an unexpected delight. The dining and sitting areas were spacious. The private deck outside the door was perfect for our morning meal. Although we didn't use our private outdoor shower, it looked inviting. The wagon they provided to haul our things to the trailer was a big convenience. I loved the time I spent in this trailer with my travel companion and our big chocolate Lab.

Room Tip: El Royal is worth the little extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Two nights were not nearly enough -- El Cosmico is such a charming funky place, comfortable and staffed with friendly people who want to help you have a great stay. I stayed in the Kozy Coach and will probably choose it again the next time I go to Marfa. I just don't have a single unhappy thing to say about El Cosmico, or about Marfa (though at least when I visited, it would've been a little better to be there over the weekend because some of the bars and restaurants were closed during the week). But none of that has to do with El Cosmico, which is simply wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cosmico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cosmico

Address: 802 S. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marfa
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
El Cosmico Marfa, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cosmico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.