We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibolo Creek Ranch

Save Saved
You added Cibolo Creek Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cibolo Creek Ranch
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   HCR 67 Box 44, Marfa, TX 79843   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I visited alone on business, but I will be returning with my wife soon. Beautiful location, wonderful service and amazing food. Old fort which has been beautifully renovated. The furnishings are excellent and the view and location are one of a kind. I didn't have time to participate in any of the activities, but I plan to do so on my next trip. I highly recommend Cibolo Creek for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cibolo Ranch. The accommodations are very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The facilities were very nice and there are a number of nice hikes in the area and other activities ( at extra charge ) for those who want them. The outdoor hot tub and pool were great; try the hot tub under the stars one night! We also enjoyed the dog, Annie, who followed us on 2 hikes ( though we didn't discourage her ). The food was very good-- not outstanding but tasty ; portions were generous.
If you are looking for a luxurious special treat in this area, we' d highly recommend Cibolo Ranch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Date of our stay was August 13-15, 2013

This is a superb location providing escape to the Chinati mountains with activities for everyone in the family.

All of the meals were very good. The evening social hour was a highlight which carried over into a great dinner to allow continuing conversations with those new acquaintances we had made or mix it up and make some new ones as we sat down to a great meal. After dinner you can enjoy making (and eating) 'Smores out by the lake. All the fixin's were there fresh each evening - the marshmallows, skewers, graham crackers and chocolate. This is just one more opportunity to continue meeting and making new acquaintances. It's also a good time to jump into one of the paddle boats and glide around the lake a bit.

Everyone in the office was helpful. All of the service staff were right on top of everything and gracious in their part of making our stay so good.

Be advised it IS remote and no obvious signs are posted to alert you to the entrance so pay attention to the directions that you will be sent via email or copy them from their website. Do NOT expect to see a big "Cibolo Creek Ranch - Turn Here" sign. There is none but it is simple to find if you follow the directions you will receive.

Also, the remote location that makes this ranch so desirable means that there is no cell phone coverage. Further, there are no phones in the rooms either so you are truly isolated from the outside world for calling in or out. The WiFi is really good though so email and web stuff works great. If you don't bring your own computer there is one conveniently located for guests' use.

We took the mountain tour by ATV and really recommend that. Some of the children we talked with at dinner told us about fishing, shooting BB guns, playing pool, swimming, bicycling and more. The range of activities appeals to the range of ages that you will find from youngsters to young at heart. As an aside let me say that all of the children we met (Caroline, Ben, Max, Charlie) were mature acting and delightful to talk to.

If you are looking for a remote, get-away-from-it-all spot, this is it. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the 10 lakeside rooms and recommend them. Along the front of all of the lakeside buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

So....looking for a private getaway? Hours away from any airport, other than a private jet strip next door. This is the destination then! Cibolo is a truly western getaway, a fort restored to its original beauty by history buff Mr. John Poindexter in its old style beauty, along with all the amenities you could ask for in the privacy of the ranch. Horseback, skeet shoots, humvee tours, polaris off road jeeps, paddleboats and on site spa with appointments arranged and fine dining prepared for your convenience and enjoyment. Full breakfast, lunch, cocktails/hors d'oeuvres hour, and dinner daily. The town of Marfa with its history and culture is a short drive away. Tour the Paisano Hotel where stars stayed during the filming of Giant in the mid 1950's, or tour some art galleries like D. Judd Foundation. Indulge yourself...for a truly spectacular view and taste of the old west. End your day with a bonfire and dip in the outdoor pool or hottub. Truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Pool side suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and stayed for 4 nights. We enjoyed every minute. We had most of our meals there and enjoyed wisiting with the other guests each night. The staff was excellent and met our every need. We looked at the historical artifacts, took a ranch tour and traveled to McDonald Observatory one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed two nights over a holiday weekend in 'The Cowboy' room which over looks the main courtyard inside the fort. The drive into the hotel from the highway is about 4 miles and is mostly gravel. Bring your truck or SUV and four wheel drive. You can manage the drive in a sedan but a large vehicle is the way to go.

Upon arrival we met the manager and he showed us the grounds and offered to help with our bags. He also provided us with a pitcher of water with lemons and glasses in our room which was very nice. We did have to sign the medical liability waiver upon arrival. I believe that it is important for people to acknowledge that they (and their families) are far from medical assistance and that they are taking a risk by staying at the ranch in the case of emergency.

The Room: The room was much larger than I had expected from the photos. There was a large king size bed, desk and chair, sitting chair, two night stands, and a dresser. Each room also has a fire place. The bathroom was also fairly large. The shower was very clean and I took a bath the first night because the room was equipped with bath salts that I could not pass up. The bathroom had nice towels, soaps, two robes and a small hair dryer. The bed was not the most comfortable bed in the whole world, but it was good enough. The bed had very nice sheets and pillows, but the mattress just was not for me. The hotel did make the bed each day and provided a turn down service during dinner. We enjoyed staying on the courtyard side of the hotel and sitting on the patio outside the door. I will say that the doors to the room have glass panes that allow sound and light in.

Food: While we stayed at the resort we had one dinner, which was very good. The dinner started with a salad with vinaigrette dressing and goat cheese. The main course was asparagus, steak, and potatoes. Dessert was a fruit cheese cake. Dinner was very good. It was served fairly slowly and you eat in dinning hall with the other guests. We had a boxed lunch the day we departed the hotel which included a large ham sandwich, gala apple, chips, a cookie, and a water. The boxed lunch was my favorite thing I ate because the sandwich was amazing. We had breakfast both mornings we were there. The breakfast was very good and included fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage and other southwest dishes. You could also order waffles, pancakes, and omelets from the kitchen. Everything we ate was very good. The price tag is decent given that all of the food must be purchased, delivered, prepared, and served on the ranch. We had several drinks while we were there and they were all very good; I thought the bar tender was very good. $75.00 per day plus drinks

Hotel: This luxury hotel has everything you need including a private air strip, RTVs, shooting, paddle boats, fishing, mountain biking, star gazing, nightly fire and s'mores, mountain tours, pool, and is meant to be a private retreat. The hotel has several artifact rooms that show the history of the land. The hotel does not have cell phone service, but they do have free wifi and offer a community office space where phones and computers are available. The living area is a great place to sit inside and relax and have a drink. You can bird watch on your patio.

I would love to say this place is perfect, but alas, it had a few faults.
- There were about 10-12 children staying at the hotel while we were visiting. The only negative thing about this was that the kids were running up and down the exterior courtyards until 11:30-12pm. We would have preferred the hotel enforce a curfew for the kids if their parents would not do so. The price tag of the resort does not permit this type of noise in my opinion.
- The mountain tour was very beautiful, but the tour was completed by the bar tender who does not normally do the tours and the cost was still the normal price of $75.00 per person. I would have preferred that they offer a discount since the normal tour guide was not available. We did have a great time on the tour seeing the sights of the ranch, but it was not narrated very well.

We drove into Marfa and completed a few art tours while we visited. Marfa is about a hour from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to all of those who want to experience ranch life, reflect, read, visit with friends and family, rest and relax. We will be returning one day.
Our two night total was about $950 with tip.

Room Tip: The rooms along the lake have an in-door siting area over looking the lake. The rooms along the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here with our grandson. The location, in the Texas Big Bend Country, is spectacular. The hotel is located in the restored and modernized ranch fort (ca. 1857) of Milton Faver, a cattle baron. You won't find a more unique location or resort anywhere and it has received rave reviews in national and international publications for over 20 years. We look forward to a return visit.

Now for some constructive criticism. Since you are 40 miles from the nearest restaurant most people take their meal plan. We paid $75 per day per adult for three meals. Breakfast has something of a rotating menu and you order as you come in off the menu of the day. Breakfast was always good. Lunch has no choice unless you have arranged in advance for allergies or vegetarian accommodation. Supper is the same with no choice offered. The food was consistently good but not outstanding. We both wished that we had been offered a choice of entree. Snapper Vera Cruz was the entree one night and, while good, I just had no desire for a fish dish that night. An always available beef or chicken dish would have been appreciated.

Our big gripe centered around the bar service and the wine at dinner. Mixed drinks are offered for an hour before dinner and are expensive at $10 a throw. That would not be so bad but they do not have a trained bartender and we never got a decent result on our order. Plus, you do not sign a chit and we had been over charged for cocktails on our bill. Wine, both red and white, is offered with dinner, which is served family style. There was no indication that the wine was not included in the food plan and we kept no track of our consumption. Our glasses were refilled regularly and the wine flowed freely as we conversed with our new friends each night. We were surprised to learn that we had been charged by the glass. Since glasses were regularly topped off I fail to understand how they came up with the number of glasses to charge. If I am going to be charged for drinks and wine, tell me up front and give me a ticket to sign!

Be forewarned that there is not a lot to do other than read, wait for the next meal, swim or hike. There is some very nice hiking if it is not summer with its high temperatures. We took the Humvee mountain tour and, while expensive, it was fun and worth doing once.

We will go back at a cooler time of the year as we love the Big Bend area of Texas. Next time we will back our own lunch foods in an ice chest and just do breakfast and dinner on the food plan. We will also have cocktails in our room or carry them to the bar area and will skip the wine at dinner; unless they get a trained bartender and have us sign for drinks and wine so we all know just what we are spending.

Finally, this is a working ranch and flies are everywhere. The dining area. while screened, is really open air and the little creatures buzz you during your meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cibolo Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cibolo Creek Ranch

Address: HCR 67 Box 44, Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cibolo Creek Ranch 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest luxury hotel in West Texas and the Big Bend, 30,000 acre ranch, unique accommodations with fireplaces, spectacular views, gourmet food, three 1857 restored adobe forts & museums.35 minutes south of Marfa, 30 minutes north of Presidio, fitness center, spa, horseback riding, ATV tours, Humvee tours, skeet and target shooting, mountain hiking, bird watching, massages, facials, near the Chinati Foundation, Judd Foundation, and art galleries in Marfa, Big Bend National Park, Fort Davis, and McDonald Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Cibolo Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cibolo Creek Ranch Hotel Marfa
Cibolo Creek Ranch Marfa, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibolo Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.