We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to experience it to believe how fabulous this place is!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibolo Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cibolo Creek Ranch to your Saves list
Cibolo Creek Ranch
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   HCR 67 Box 44, Marfa, TX 79843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
1 review
“You have to experience it to believe how fabulous this place is!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I surprised my husband for his 60th birthday. 32 family and friends gathered here and we pulled the surprise off with the help of the staff at Cibolo. All of my expectations were met. I'd visited 4 years previous with just family and always knew I wanted to return. This occasion gave us the chance to revisit a fantastic place. Truly a place I will return for a third time! The food was gourmet---outstanding. Wine list superb. I can't say enough good things about this. The rest of the group...none had ever been there ...were equally impressed. The only negative was the water pressure in the courtyard rooms was finicky. Don't think that will keep anyone from returning however.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbgill, General Manager at Cibolo Creek Ranch, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Because of the severe winter temperatures we experienced this year—like so much of the country—we had many broken pipes that we had to fix. For a short while we experienced reduced water pressure while we found and fixed the broken pipes. They are now all fixed and our water pressure has returned to normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    12
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The staff was very accommodating and always went out of their way to make you feel at home. All of the meals were amazing and the staff even prepared special meals for me to eat in my room the day I was feeling under the weather. One of the funnest parts of our stay was meeting and visiting with fellow guest in such a quaint and cozy atmosphere that the ranch house provides. The tour guides were educated beyond belief about the place's history. If you go, you HAVE to take a hum v tour with Mike. He is a true Texan through and through and knows the ranch like his backyard. And for all you women, doubting your man wanting to drag you to a ranch...trust me....you will LOVE it!!! Mr. Poindexter has done an amazing job of creating a luxury ranch and is so gracious to share with all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place IS gorgeous and very high end. Perhaps that is why people like Mick Jagger are known to spend a month here. We thought it was nice, but the habit of the establishment adding on extra charges for pretty much everything got a little much. Extra for meals, extra for dogs, extra for tours--so what we thought would be around $250 ended up being over $500, and that is with negotiation. If money is no object and you love being in the middle of nowhere in a beautiful setting, this place is for you. The food, as I agree with in other reviews I see here, are passable but not memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The general lodging was very nice with beautiful grounds, wonderful architecture and decor. If you're in the area, I would suggest a day trip to the property for the sights and historical nature of the fort, but I would not suggest paying the hefty price tag for a night's stay.
Our room rate was $325 per night, plus the extra fee of $75 per person / per day charged for meals which did not include beverages. Dining at the hotel is the only real option since the location is so remote. Rooms do not have refrigerators or ammeniteis to store and/or prepare your own food and beverage. The meals provided were satisfactory, but not gourmet. There are scheduled meal times & food served at large communal tables.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbgill, Manager at Cibolo Creek Ranch, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Cibolo Creek Ranch is a 5-star resort located in a 30,000-acre ranch. We are the only full 5-star hotel or resort in the Big Bend. Our room rates are very reasonable for a 5-star resort and our food prices are equally reasonable. It would be difficult to eat three meals in restaurants anywhere serving our quality of food for $75 per day. Our cuisine is a blend of European gourmet traditions and ancient Mexican culinary traditions. Our food is gourmet food with a regional flair, as is attested to by so many other reviews on TripAdvisor. Most guests who come to a 5-star resort do not want to prepare their own food in their rooms, so we do not provide refrigerators and stoves in the rooms. Since we are such a small hotel, most of our guests get to know one another during their stay and prefer to eat together at meals. We would be very happy to seat anyone who prefers not to eat with the other guests separately and we prepare special meals for guests with special dietary requests or restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The star-filled skies and mountain-filled vistas make this a classic W. Texas ranch. But the upscale room amenities (gazillion-count sheets, Aveda bath products, plush towels), small-batch cooking, personal attention, gorgeous grounds and an almost museum-quality collection of antiques and folk art make CCR a destination. Pricey for some, but not for those used to Four Seasons quality. Worth a 2-night splurge for anyone looking for a top Texas treat. The HumVee trip is 3+ hours of adventure, history and nature.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooden UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Cibolo Creek ranch. The guest rooms are superb, and the restored Fort Cibolo makes an ideal centre point to the stay. The fort houses the dining room, museum, some guests' rooms and study.. A full board option is offered and we recommend this as the activities fit intoo either the mornings or afternoons. We enjoyed the activities which were horseriding, humvee tours of the ranch, rifle shooting, walking and the swimming pool complex. There are other activities, but we ran out of time. Meals are taken by all guests together around big tables and that is idael for introductions, good conversation whist enjoying the home-cooked meals of local produce. This is the place to relax in or out of the sun or water, or stand on top of the world at 7,000ft after a humvee ride up one of the mountains or horse ride. It is also an ideal place to get married,- not many places where you can marry in a 150 year old fort and for the honeymoon, stay in your own personal fort, as there are 2 others on the ranch, a few miles away.
The staff are very good and treat all guests as celebrity visitors. It is relatively easy to drive to Cibolo on Hwy 67, south of Marfa, but as it has its own paved airstrip, I would have liked to arrive in my own plane.
The owner of the ranch is to be commended for his eco work, particularly clearing the scrubland and replacing the grazing grass, re-introducing buffalo as were there 100 years ago, oryx antelopes, deer, and herd of texan longhorn cattle.
Here, I have just given a short taster of our enjoyment and impressions, but whether you are a city dweller wanting to get away to a peaceful haven, a history buff, or a country person like me wanting to enjoy a different form of countryside and see buffaloes, then I recommedn that you look at the website and make a booking!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

A three and half hour drive from Midland or El Paso while the closer you get to Cibolo Creek the more awesome the landscape. Legendary west Texas c0mes alive in Ft. Davis and Marfa. A long side track took us through Big Bend Country...worth a separate trip of a couple of days. Cibolo Creek Ranch is inspiring in its scale and attention to the smallest detail.If you enjoy being in some of the most scenic mountains in the state. One of Texas best kept secrets. The "real" west Texas which very few Texans have ever seen. Other sights include MacDonald Observatory, Ft. Davis Mountains, Fr. Davis Park, Alpine, Lajitas, Marathon (Gage Hotel), the Rio Grande (especially Santa Elena Canyon) and, of course, the Big Bend National Park (there is also a state park of 200,000 acres adjacent).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cibolo Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cibolo Creek Ranch

Address: HCR 67 Box 44, Marfa, TX 79843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cibolo Creek Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest luxury hotel in West Texas and the Big Bend, 30,000 acre ranch, unique accommodations with fireplaces, spectacular views, gourmet food, three 1857 restored adobe forts & museums.35 minutes south of Marfa, 30 minutes north of Presidio, fitness center, spa, horseback riding, ATV tours, Humvee tours, skeet and target shooting, mountain hiking, bird watching, massages, facials, near the Chinati Foundation, Judd Foundation, and art galleries in Marfa, Big Bend National Park, Fort Davis, and McDonald Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Cibolo Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cibolo Creek Ranch Hotel Marfa
Cibolo Creek Ranch Marfa, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibolo Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.