We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but stay in Alpine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Paisano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Paisano
Save
You added The Hotel Paisano to your Saves list
207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marfa
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK, but stay in Alpine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is Marfa Texas so don't expect 5 star accommodations. The Paisano is very quiet and has a unique lobby. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed although the TV's are very small. The restaurant has reasonably priced good food but the drinks are obscenely overpriced for very small pours. I am guessing that this is the only bar in town so is priced accordingly.

As for Marfa, it is little more than a ghost town. Stay in Alpine instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    116
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
40
121
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed one night in February - simply wonderful!!!!!! Each room is unique and very comfortable. We stayed in the Elizabeth Taylor room and it was terrific. Bar and restaurant are the best. Kudos to management who allowed us to view rooms before selecting the E. Taylor room. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Beautiful classic hotel - lots of tile, fountains, a fireplace, etc. We stayed in the "Elizabeth Taylor" suite from the days when they filmed "Giant" nearby. There is also a Rock Hudson and a James Dean suite. Large room and nice amenities. Small annoyances - bedside clock was broken, kitchen cabinets chipped, etc. Small details one should not have when the room is $230+ per night. Warning - there is NO ELEVATOR in the building so plan to lug your suitcase up stairs. There is an elevator but it has "been broken for 25 years" according to the desk clerk. How sill of me to ask! Another note - Marfa is essentially closed on Sundays and Mondays

Room Tip: The Rock Hudson room seems to be the best room but is expensive. Rooms on the first floor looked ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here due to the history of the hotel. It's a neat old building with upgrades. Our room was a bit small with a smaller bathroom but good amenities. A nice patio outside our room with a fireplace stocked with a fire log. Unfortunately we didn't have time to relax and light a fire. Good view of the beautiful old courthouse from our room. The bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed good sleep. Unfortunately, no elevator to upper floors which is a little hard on achy knees. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is basic, no hot foods unless you use the hot water to make oatmeal...and the basics are expensive. However, the restaurant-Jett's - is open in the evening and offers a great experience and margaritas. We sat outside on their courtyard which has a nice fountain and good ambience. There was however, a couple of young guys playing and singing, and it was way too loud. We could not carry on a conversation when they played. You can walk to many areas of Marfa from this conveniently located property.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Last time I was in Marfa was 1995. Stayed here before Marfa was "discovered" by the yuppies and others. Checked in. Manager wanted to know if we would be going out for dinner or other. Told him yes. Gave me a key to the front door and asked if I would mind locking door as we came and went. LOL Huge arrowhead collection. Massive paintings and murals of Rock, Elizabeth, James Dean, Chill Wills and all the others in Giant. Bar. Pretty trusting folks. Not too many places to eat in those days. Got a couple of burgers and 12 pack and headed E to park and look for mystery lights where proprietor had suggested. Within 15 minutes we saw them. Watched for over 3 hours until thunderstorm sent us back to town.
This time hotel has been reworked-somewhat. Still a funky place like Majestic in Hot Springs, AR. I love the Westins/Four Seasons/others as well as anyone. But these places are just as special in their own ways. Still fairly small rooms and baths. Comfortable beds. Still quiet town overall. More places and food trucks to eat at. Highest golf course in TX. Had a great time.
Also drive to Presidio is one of the best in America. Presidio is very poor and nothing to see. But you can then head over to Lajitas , TX. Great river rafting down Santa Elena canyon. Golf. Terlingua is right up road. Eclectic doesn't start to describe those who live in this area. Classical musicians and winos all together. Good times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I really enjoyed the three nights I spent at this unique hotel. The corner room I booked was nice-sized and well decorated; the bathroom was small but serviceable. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and provide useful information to make the most of our visit to Marfa. There is a well-equipped exercise room with free bottled water and apples. We enjoyed the lively bar and dinner at the restaurant.

But the best part is the location. Right on the main street, down from the courthouse and within walking distance of all the restaurants and local bars you want to go to, all the galleries and shops you want to visit, the Judd "Block" and a short drive from the Chinati Foundation.

There are several hospitality options in Marfa, but this one, we felt was the best.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have lots of light. Facing the main street is fine because there is hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

we spent two nights at the Paisano so that we could take an all-day tour of the Chinati Foundation, which was totally marvelous. The hotel is a bit old but a very attractive and interesting place to stay. It looks like the Majestic in Mexico City. One problem with age is that there is no elevator nor is one needed since there are barely 11/2 floors to climb. However, the chair by the desk fell over when I sat on it and was broken. The service was terrific; one lady gave me a map to show me where the dog park was; she also knew how to get to Chinati.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Paisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Paisano

Address: 207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Paisano Hotel Marfa
Hotel Paisano
The Hotel Paisano Marfa, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Paisano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.