We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice (quirky) - Definitely like it (quirks and all)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Paisano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Paisano
Save
You added The Hotel Paisano to your Saves list
207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marfa
New York NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice (quirky) - Definitely like it (quirks and all)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Marfa is awesome - you have to love Marfa.

Marfa is so charming and so awesome - you have to look on the map and see where you are. I loved telling people we were going to Marfa Texas - where? Marfa. Where? Marfa Texas. Texas? Yes, West Texas. Rural West Texas (deep south in West Texas)

We drove from the Dallas area to Marfa via Fort Davis. We then continued west to Los Angeles afterwards.

We were very happy with the Hotel Paisano and its center of town location. The interior courtyard is very nice. The bed and bath linens are high quality and the bathroom amenities are nice. The hotel is definitely a bit quirky so it helps to be amenable to a bit of history - this isn't your cookie cutter chain hotel.

The front office staff are not particularly friendly. They're not unfriendly. They're just not your usual hospitality cheerful type people. For a town where tourism is the reason it exists and is quite possibly the largest employer besides the border patrol base, it might be nice to make more of an effort to be cheerful and hospitable. The housekeeping staff is super nice / friendly. The place is very clean so obviously housekeeping is up to top standards. At least one of the front office people was quite pleasant.

We would definitely return to the Hotel Paisano.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    125
    44
    13
    14
See reviews for
44
137
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

One of the sites to see while passing through Marfa, TX

This historic landmark hotel was the where James Dean and Elizabeth Taylor stayed while filming the movie 'Giant'.

Decorated with Texas and the Southwest in mind, this interesting little hotel is visually pleasing and unique.

The large fountain located in the courtyard makes for a comfortable lounge area at the end of a long day. There is a bar in the Hotel, just of the courtyard which they say is quite nice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I would give it 3.5 stars. We stayed here for 3 days recently. it was a bit pricey, but we had a nice suite style room, albeit with a postage stamp size bathroom. Marfa is a very sleepy town with some very outstanding attractions for a niche audience (high art). Due to this a lot of things are not open regularly or don't exist at all. The hotel for instance has no breakfast or lunch service. It has a restaurant for dinner that is serviceable and that has a very nice patio out front. This is the general pattern at the hotel--nice vintage facility that is pretty unpopulated and with scant services.

On the way to Marfa, we stayed in its sister hotel in Van Horn (Last Picture Show kinda town) called the El Capitan. If you are near this at night I would highly recommend it. The hotel has been completely restored and is in the price range of the chain motels in town. The restaurant in the El Capitan is fantastic for quality and value...really! believe me!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Paisano was a very pleasant experience with a very nice first floor room and a small patio with a fireplace. We sat out by the fire drinking a nice bottle of wine then ventured into the bar for a little socialization. Everyone was nice and efficient. Checking in and check out was easy and quick. It is centrally located and you can walk to everything. The bathroom was small but very adequate for such an old historic hotel. We had a great stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Besides being literally the "only place to stay in Marfa," you won't be disappointed. The rooms are small, but have been updated. No phone in room, but you won't need it. After all, you're in Marfa. The hotel is brimming with ambiance as this 1930's hotel gives you the sense your '29 Ford is parked outside. Charm doesn't fully describe the sense of history you get when you walk into their lobby. Many a great actor and artist have passed through their doors. One can sit outside in the fountain courtyard and enjoy conversation with folks from around the world. The restaurant will complete any evening with its full assortment of meals. Beds are some of the more comfortable I've slept in when it comes to motels. Most rooms have patios with fireplaces (downstairs) or verandas (upstairs). The staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Complimentary fruit always available and coffee and tea all day. You really won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a trip to big Bend National Park. Great old hotel. Lots of character. We stayed in the "Rock Hudson Suite" where the star stayed during the filming of the movie Giant. It had a large living room with a fireplace, a kitchen, a dining table, a wet bar, an extra seating area in the bedroom and a very large balcony. The room was nice but not really fancy.

We were there on a Wednesday night and the place was packed. Cars from California, New York, Tennessee and Arizona were parked in front of the hotel. The patio was full of people having a drink and socializing with one another.

For a ton of only 2100 people, Marfa has a number of good restaurants. One of the best is in the hotel.

One thing you might want to know. The hotel is on three floors and there is no elevator and no bellman.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a classic hotel by bygone days. It is west texas so don't expect fancy. Rooms are small and bathrooms very very small. Outside patio had a fireplace. Hotel is built arount the movie GIANT. No staff available after 10PM. No phones in room, Bed OK.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if you want some room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Paisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Paisano

Address: 207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Paisano Hotel Marfa
Hotel Paisano
The Hotel Paisano Marfa, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Paisano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.