We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fun if you have the right attitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marfa Mystery Lights

The Marfa Mystery Lights
Marfa, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 attractions in Marfa
Type: Mysterious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mysterious dancing lights ("ghost lights") in the sky over Marfa after dark.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's fun if you have the right attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Let's be honest, it's not UFOs or marvel mystery planes. It's most likely atmospheric reflections. Still, we enjoyed going to the viewing area after dark and hanging out with other watchers. My daughter (12) thought it was really cool and I enjoyed myself as well.

We saw the lights quite well although I understand some nights they are not visible. Perhaps if we hasn't seen anything, I'd be writing a different review.

There were a bunch of young people there who I assume were college students from the nearby college in Alpine. I'm sure some were drinking and doing other things college kids do but they weren't obnoxious and I had no problem with them being there. Everyone was just chilling out, chatting, that sort of thing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    20
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Viewing Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is really a roadside rest stop but it is very nice and has good information about the area, history, and the Marfa lights along the plaques on the trails. We met lots of interesting people who were also there to view the Marfa Mystery Lights - some of whom had seen the lights and knew what to look for and what to ignore (cars on the distant Hwy 67).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scenic Viewing Center to View Mystery Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is one easy activity to do and a must see when in Marfa, Tx. The viewing center is a beautiful roadside park between Alpine and Marfa with an ample viewing area to watch the lights after the sun goes down. The lights are an enigma and fascinating to watch as they appear and disappear and move across the horizon along the distant mountains. It doesn't cost anything and the lights are visible with the naked eye. Just go at dusk, park your car, and proceed to the viewing area. It's that easy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mystery Lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Look to the left of the red beacon. You will see the lights appear the disappear.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful location and we were lucky enough to witness the lights!! Its great that they built this lovely viewing area for all to come and experience the awesome beauty of this desert area at night, the amazing stars, and possibly catch a glimpse of some very neat flickers of unexplained lights off in the horizon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marfa Mystery Lights also viewed

 

Been to The Marfa Mystery Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marfa Mystery Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Marfa Mystery Lights to your Saves list