We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Points for Ambiance and Attitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River City Grille

River City Grille
700 1st Street, Marble Falls, TX 78654-5752
+1 830-798-9909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in Marble Falls
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Great food, friendly people, casual atmosphere and lakefront location are what make River City Grille a favorite spot for the folks in Marble Falls and Highland Lakes.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
“Extra Points for Ambiance and Attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were greeted by Kayla who was our server.
She was so very friendly and helpful.
We started off with their onion rings and their famous green chili queso.
My BW had the Paul's chicken. It's chicken breast rolled in potato chips and fried.
It was covered with green chili sauce and was very tasty. It came with a side salad
and green chili rice.
My hamburger didn't come medium as I had ordered, but it was good. My sides were coleslaw
and green chili rice.
This is a neat little eatery with friendly folks right on the lake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your meal with us! It sounds like our homemade green chili sauce hit the spot -- that's a house favorite, so we're thrilled to hear it! We're sorry to hear that your burger wasn't cook to your liking, though. Please don't hesitate to let us know -- we'd be happy to fix it right away!

The next time you visit Marble Falls, we'd love to welcome you back in for another dinner on our patio. We hope to see you soon!

Best,
Paul and Connie Brady, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    112
    47
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodway, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Handled a group with ease”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We went to the River City Grille with a group of about 40 people. They seated us on the deck and had a server for each long table of people. This made for a quick process of ordering and serving. The food was good and well priced. I would stop here again the next time we are in Marble Falls.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
No matter how big or small, we've got your group covered! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in for more good times the next time you're around Marble Falls.

Best,
Paul and Connie Brady, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You're paying for atmosphere and view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I think the place is over rated. You are paying mainly for the atmosphere, which is pretty nice, and the view, which is only good if you eat outside. We waited 45 minutes for a table after being told the wait would be 15 minutes. The food was average, but the prices were above average. I don't mind paying for a nice atmosphere, but I expect the food to be at the same level, and in this case it wasn't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We're sorry to hear that your wait was longer than your estimate, Gonzo. Not only that, once you sit down, you should be wowed by our flavorful and delicious meals. It's disappointing that this wasn't the case. We wish we would've had the chance to chat during your visit, because there's nothing more important to us than you leaving happy.

We hope to get another chance to welcome you back in -- it sounds like you didn't see us at our best, and we'd love to show you what we're really all about!

Best,
Paul and Connie Brady, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must.....Amazing Food - Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Once again my boyfriend and I took a day/night trip to Marble Falls and of course we had dinner at our FAVORITE restaurant. The food is AMAZING...staff very FRIENDLY...the view is BEAUITFUL. Thank you River City Grille you never let us down. Great Job.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Your favorite restaurant? What a compliment, Sylvia! A review can't get better than this -- thank you for sharing! Those views make the dinner taste even better, right? The next time you and your boyfriend take a fun day trip our way, we'll have a patio table with your name on it.

Best,
Paul and Connie Brady, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Scenic dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have been to River City Grille a few times, and I am never disappointed. The restaurant is located on the river, and there are big windows and an outdoor patio so that you can enjoy the view.
You can get burgers, salads, or chicken fried steak, and one of my friends ordered the fish tacos and pronounced them great. The portions are hearty, and the price is in line with other similar type restaurants. Nice place for family and late night dining. From time to time, there is live music to be heard here, and I saw Ian Moore here, an Austin native, play in this intimate setting.
Check it out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It was such a pleasure to read your review -- thank you for sharing! You can't beat those lake views, right? Some local Austin music is always a plus, as well. It also sounds like you've enjoyed your dinners, which is great. The next time you're around Marble Falls, we'd love to have you back in!

Best,
Paul and Connie Brady, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Grille also viewed

 
Marble Falls, TX
 

Been to River City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.