We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eve's Garden - a beautiful, relaxing and unique oasis in the desert.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
North 3rd Street & Avenue C, Marathon, TX 79842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Marathon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
“Eve's Garden - a beautiful, relaxing and unique oasis in the desert.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We only stayed one night after visiting Big Bend. Our first impression was WOW! My wife fell in love with the sitting areas surrounded by fountains and beautiful flowers. As a photographer, I could not get enough of the beautiful indoor gardens and architecture. We immediately connected with Kate and Clyde as they shared their gardening and cooking tips. Our room was clean and cozy and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was bountiful and delicious. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
12
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was my third year in a row to visit Eve's Garden in Marathon, TX. It is truly an oasis of color, comfort, and fragrance in the magnificent Big Bend desert of Texas. Just walking into the place is like stepping into a heavenly space. The huge covered garden is filled with incredibly colorful flowers, bushes, vines--many of which are very fragrant. Some very special flowers bloom at night and fill the garden with a heady perfume. There are comfortable places to sit, and some small tables for enjoying coffee or a glass of wine. The lily pond inside the garden has small koi and a trickling fountain.
Sitting in the hot tub and gazing at the black velvet sky cannot be described except to say it is breathtaking.
Just when you think it cannot possibly be better, you meet the creators of this B&B, Kate and Clyde, who treat you like friends. They are the designers and builders of this magical place. The rooms are enchanting and unique, cozy and quiet. If you are fortunate, Elaine and Noble will be there too.
Breakfast is served each morning in the art filled dining rooms. The food is organic, healthy and delicious. Not your usual breakfast fare--much better!
The only difficult thing about Eve's Garden is leaving--you will want to linger at this soul-filling haven. I will return again next year and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Eve's Garden is sweet and funky! The owner and family are lovely people who made us feel very warmly welcomed. The breakfast was not the standard fare, which suited me fine but was a little exotic for my husband... but they also had eggs and bacon, so all was well. We would stay again and would recommend to others without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I was going to Big Bend and needed a place to stay. All I had heard about was the hotel on the main street &, since I like getting off the beaten track, I searched to see if there was anywhere else to stay in Marathon & found Eve's. I read these evaluations, looked at their website and decided this was where I had to stay. It was certainly different & I enjoyed it. Wonderful use of bright colors, a work in progress and not just another dull, run-of-the-mill hotel. You don't have the amenities of a fancy hotel but the breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We initially checked out Eve's prior to my daughter's wedding at The Gage Hotel in 2007. We stayed there to see if we could use it for overflow. We fell in love with it and Kate and Clyde. We have stayed there several times since and much prefer it to the more popular Gage. The rooms are fun and eclectic. The breakfasts are great...fresh and flavorful and nutritious and local. It's become a destination. We love going back each year to see what has changed and how it has grown. Clyde is working on a new greenhouse now. We look forward to enjoying the fresh produce next year. We're also eagerly awaiting Kate 's cookbook! It 's the best stay on your way to Big Bend or just hanging out in West Texas.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

There is a tradition amongst my friends to ring in the New Year at Eve's Garden. It's been an ongoing tradition that's continued for half a decade. There's a reason why.. Kate is a wonderful hostess and we are at home at Eve's Garden.
It is a beautiful oasis of both tranquility and rejuvenation. It is made with environmentally sensitive products and has a unique flair with bright colors and life everywhere!
You're found a rare gem in this B&B. Enjoy~

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I go out to west texas twice a year, usually, and i always include marathon in my trip. even if i don't have a chance to stay at eve's garden, i love to stop in and say hi to Kate and Clyde. they are friendly, kind and interesting people.
i have a lot of favorite things about eve's garden. one is the breakfasts are spectacular! two is that the rooms are incredible. kate and clyde have built all the rooms and they are painted bright warm colors. i love how unique and special each room is. three is that the beds are so comfortable, and they use nice comforters and bed sheets - i always get a good nights sleep. four is how lovely the garden and greenhouse courtyard is. five is the hot tub, where my friends and i always end up at the end of the day. in january when it's freezing outside, there's no better place to ring in a new year than in the hot tub at eve's garden. six is supporting a cool local organic b&b in the middle of my favorite desert!
i could go on, but you should check the place out for yourself. oh they also have books in the rooms so if you forget to take one, there's some great ones on the shelves :) i always go out with friends, but eve's is also perfect for a couple's weekend get away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: North 3rd Street & Avenue C, Marathon, TX 79842
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Eve's Garden Bed and Breakfast and Ecology Resource Center. Located in Marathon, Texas, a high desert oasis. You start your visit with us entering through large indoor gardens filled year-round blooming roses, bougainvillea, and countless flowers. Our private, quiet, hand-built guest rooms open to a central covered courtyard with a pond and tea room. We offer yummy homemade organic gourmet breakfasts. Marathon, Texas, is the gateway to the Big Bed! Feel like you are in an old western movie. Marathon is located just a short gorgeous drive from: Big Bend National Park's 3 life zones desert, river, and mountain; Marfa's art scene; Ft. Davis's state park, observatory and its star party; Alpine's museums and galleries; and much more! Come enjoy cool, romantic summer nights with our family-run B&B! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.