We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing foodie-pleasing fare in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Buffalo Bar

White Buffalo Bar
102 NW 1st Street, Marathon, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: American
Description: At the Gage Hotel
Restaurant details
Description: At the Gage Hotel
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing foodie-pleasing fare in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We ate at the White Buffalo Bar but we ordered food off of the menu from the main restaurant in the Gage Hotel. Were were truly impressed to find food of this quality in a tiny, isolated town like Marathon. The fare is everything you would expect from an expensive restaurant in a big city.

In two trips, we tried escargot, nachos, venison sliders and chicken enchiladas. Everything was delicious, but the sliders and enchiladas were our favorites. The enchilada plate was as beautiful as it was delicious, with the poblano sauce adding a nice touch of green to the plate.

The bar itself is well-stocked. We mostly ordered beers from the Big Bend Brewing company, since they aren't even available yet back home in Houston (I recommend the Golden Ale).

I can't wait to return to Marathon, there are lots of other items on the menu I want to try. ;)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved the atmosphere at the White Buffalo Bar. It is part and next to the Gage Hotel in Marathon Texas.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Its Always Open!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sometimes in small west Texas towns you can't alway count on your favorite restaurant to be open, but we have always been able to count on the White Buffalo Bar. Great burgers, nachos, fries…bar food. They offer huge portions too - nachos could feed two with no problem. Every time I've stopped here the same guy has been working behind the bar and servicing the entire bar - he gets a bit busy at times, but he is very good. Without hesitation I can say that this is a very good spot to grab some dinner any evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,tx
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good place for a cocktail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Not very expensive. Excellent draft beers from (i think) Terlingua Brewery. Fun place. After a few drinks, if you are more than 6' tall, try not too walk into the white buffalo like I did.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the restaurant bar at The Gage. The food is good but pricey. Nice southwestern ambiance and decor. We ate at the outside patio which has a fireplace. Very nice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Buffalo Bar also viewed

 

Been to White Buffalo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Buffalo Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.