We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in a classic Texas Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 12 Gage

12 Gage
Gage Hotel, Marathon, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: The restaurant at the Gage Hotel
Granbury TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Food in a classic Texas Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

A group of 12 Motorcycle Adventure Riders enjoyed a great meal recently at the now called 12 Gauge Restaurant at the Hotel Gage. We sat outside close to the fireplace and on a cool evening it felt great. The food was outstanding and the staff took care of us very well. A great last night spent with fellow riders and friends. The Western Decor makes it very warm and welcoming to us Texans. Or anyone else.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    26
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Got both barrels of the 12 Gage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have dined at some really good restaurants and this place ranks in my top 5. I have ate here twice now and the food never has disappointed. The mixed grill with antelope medallion, buffalo sausage, and quail is amazing. For appetizers go with the shrimp and grits. A friend went with the pork chop and it was the largest cut of pork I have ever seen. Over 2 inches thick! Service is great. Make sure to get there before your reservations and have a drink at the White Buffalo bar.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly creative menu, in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Loved the food, the service was outstanding. True, this may not be a classic interpretation of 'Southwestern' food, but thats what I loved about it. It was clearly 'fusion' meaning, a nice interpretation of Southwestern food. A bit pricey, but honestly, this restaurant can hold its on in New York City.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quality, not quantity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

In spite of the title, a quick bite to eat with a friend resulted in both of us being quite satisfied with the fajita nacho appetizer - it was huge! Fantastic flavors and enough for both of us to quell the hunger pangs but not be stuffed. Between the nachos and two drinks, however, the tab was pushing $30, a bit of a shock. I'd never been before (drove past when it used to be Cafe Cenizo), but probably won't go again unless someone else picks up the tab!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very creative menu and excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The restaurant is part of the Gage Hotel.

We've traveled and dined all over the world, and we found the 12 Gage menu to be quite inventive and the food to be excellent. Over two nights, I had the Trost salad, wild game mixed grill (excellent; not "gamey") and the glazed pork tenderloin. Service was very good and the meals were presented in a reasonable time. Prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the food and the location of the restaurant in the middle of nowhere. Outdoor seating is available in a lovely courtyard and is recommended. Note: the desserts could be better and the wine list is limited.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12 Gage also viewed

 

Been to 12 Gage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 12 Gage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.