We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well done restoration of a historic TX railroad hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gage Hotel to your Saves list
Gage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 W Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very well done restoration of a historic TX railroad hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We launched our Big Bend road trip at the Gage, and for an authentic restoration of an old TX hotel, I haven't experienced better. We had one room (with bath) in the original hotel that looked so authentic, we expected Miss Kitty from "Gunsmoke" might be lounging on the bed. We had another room in the adobe annex -- spacious and charming -- with a kiva corner fireplace, lantilla thatched ceiling and chaps on the wall. The bartender told us the owner had bought out a museum in WY with some 200 pieces, which are presented dramatically around the property. Don't miss the taxidermy lurking in every room -- like the mountain lion in the front meeting room and, of course, the giant white buffalo head in the saloon. Hats off to the owner for having preserved and restored this gem of the good old days when steam engines stopped here for water. Real time travel!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the proximity to the RR tracks unless you're a fitful sleeper. We loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    77
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
49
130
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

On a recent road trip to West Texas, friends and I spent a night at the Gage Hotel. Wow - what a nice surprise in an otherwise sleepy town. The hotel has such an old, historic, rustic vibe to it. The rooms are beautifully done. Two of my friends stayed in a room in the main hotel and it was a large room with cool amenities. The rest of us stayed in the lodge-style rooms that all surrounded a beautiful courtyard. My room was a very large room with a king bed and its own fireplace. One thing to note is none of the rooms have televisions. The staff was excellent and we loved our short stay at the hotel. Also, if you are staying in Marathon DEFINITELY get dinner reservations at the 12 Gage Restaurant (associated with the hotel). Our meal was amazing - all of our dishes were top notch and the quality rivaled some of the nice restaurants we are used to in Houston! Regarding price - on the pricey end for a Marathon, TX… but overall I would say worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Gage on our way to Big Bend National Park. We were pleasantly surprised by this charming, historic hotel. We had a room in the courtyard which was very well appointed and comfortable. The rooms are decorated in Texas rustic. The shower was absolutely awesome - I want one in my house! No TV or phones in the room but good WiFi connections. Loved experiencing this hotel. If you plan a stay longer than 1 night, be prepared - Marathon is basically a small smear on Hwy 90. Typical west Texas town but not much to do outside of the Gage. That said, great place to stay before a morning entry into Big Bend which is still 1 - 2 hours away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

On a long stretch of highway, the Gage rises above the tumbleweeds, like a beautifully appointed oasis in the desert. This hotel brings together old west charm with new world comfort. Relax in the oversized rocking chairs on the front porch, with a cool beverage and watch a brilliant sunset. I had an amazing sea scallop salad at the 12 Gage restaurant, and the Road King's tenderloin was melt in the mouth delicious. The wine menu offers plenty of choices to pair with any of the eclectic big city menu offerings. We enjoyed a cocktail at the White Buffalo afterwards. An intimate gathering spot, where hotel goers share tales of that day's far west adventures. The shower in our room was beautifully crafted, and we found the goat head fountain at the pool fascinating. The attention to detail defies the rustic facade of this charming gateway to Big Bend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Gage is an impressive architectural example of a historic hotel preserved with period art work and furnishings in a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The dining room and bar are both excellent and each provides its own special experience for eating and drinking. What a pleasant surprise while visiting Big Bend National Park.
Upon arrival, we initially had a difficult situation with our room. The hotel manager, Carol, resolved the problem swiftly, graciously and to our satisfaction. Due to her professionalism, our overall experience was very positive.
Thank you Carol!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I have visited several historic hotels in the scenic Big Bend area. The Gage, however, has stolen my heart. The food is so delicious. (unexpected, adventurous and eclectic combinations) The drinks are perfectly concocted, as well! The staff is beyond accommodating. I've never been made to feel so welcome at any other hotel. This is a phenomenal place to relax and disconnect from the hectic lifestyle I live at home. I'm thrilled to visit this enchanting hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, or
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Marathon lacks sufficient services for any length of stay. This hotel only creates a false sense of security if you choose to stay in Marathon while visiting Big Bend NP.

No microwave or television in the Los Portales rooms. The Wifi didn't work for the first two days of our 3 day stay. So the only means of getting weather/travel advisories was to sit in the bar in the evenings or other common room to watch the television there.

The only option for dinner in Marathon is the 12-Gage Restaurant and White Buffalo Bar (both in the Gage Hotel). They don't start serving until 6 PM. The bar's menu offers mostly appetizers with a cheese burger as the only meal selection. The restaurant's entrees start at $17 for Chicken Fried Steak and go up to $37. Extremely unreasonable menu for a traveler looking for basic food.

There are only three choices for breakfast & lunch (Marathon Coffee Shop, Shirley's Burnt Biscuit Bakery & Johnny B's). See their individual reviews but don't rely on any of them for breakfast.

The pool and grounds were nice & well cared for. The pool is out door so no use in cold weather like during our stay.

The hotel accepts dogs but their pet policy is not very friendly. The pet fee is $20/day/pet. They offer nothing for this fee except to allow pets to stay there. The floor in our room Los Portales was tile so there couldn't be much cleaning required even if a pet creates a mess. There is some areas near the hotel to walk dogs.

You expect to pay a little more when there are limited services, but the prices here are out of this world for what little they provide! Recommend staying in Alpine as it is only about 30 miles from Marathon and there are a few more choices and prices are a little more reasonable in Alpine.

Room Tip: The Los Portales rooms with a King bed have a nice fireplace that comes with a daily supply of firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Address: 102 W Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.