We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well since it's really your only choice, I say go for it and stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gage Hotel to your Saves list
Gage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 W Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Well since it's really your only choice, I say go for it and stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed our first night in the Gage's Captain Shepard House (listed on TripAdvisor as a separate property, but I think it's wholly owned by the Gage now). By the way, the Shepard is not one of the properties listed on the "Accommodations" portion of the website. It's just a block away from the main hotel, and in this tiny 10-square-block town that's nothing. At first glance it's beautiful. The grounds have been laid out incredibly well. There's fake green turf and lush native-looking plantings, so kudos to them for creating something that looks great and conserves water.

The inside is equally visually appealing. The furnishings and linens are good quality. There are animal horns everywhere, lest you forget you're in Texas. The bathroom was nicely done with a big walk in shower. The bed was comfortable.

Here's my one complaint. All this money and effort was spent on nice furniture and linens and nice tile work on the wall. Yet my room door is probably as old as the building itself (I'm guessing late nineteenth century) and I could hear every whisper and footstep from the hall though the door's gaps and cracks. And there was no individual climate control for the room (I'm assuming there was a thermostat somewhere for the floor or the building. I guess I would have just appreciated the check-in person making mention of the fact, so I didn't spend 20 minutes looking around the room for a thermostat before realizing that the temperature was out of my control.) It would have been nice if they had scaled back on the decor a bit and put some of that money into beefing up the door, fixing the floorboards in the room above us (I think someone up there had a bladder problem because they were up at least 5 times in the night), and coming up with some way to control the climate in the room.

We were going to move the 2nd night to a room in their Los Portales section. This wasn't because of the quality of the room the 1st night, but rather because of our own booking screw up. However we ended up leaving a day early and going home. I'm only mentioning this because it's indicative of the general vibe of the town; it's slow paced and you might get bored easily if you're sticking around during the day and not going into Big Bend, and I don't think the hotel offers enough as a "resort" to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    77
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
49
129
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heath
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a wonderful stay! Marathon is a really tiny town on US 90 north of the Big Bend National Park where we had just visited. The Gage is a jewel. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, but it's all really nice. The Gage was built long ago and has a very interesting history. The design is sort of a cross between Spanish mission and Western themes. The rooms are decorated with all sorts of REAL artifacts from the old west. The pool area is spotless and beautifully designed. They have a large patio area that can be used for receptions etc. This is a small town and eateries are limited. Believe it or not, we ate at a place called the Rattlesnake Saloon. It does have a bar, but it also has a dining area. The menu isn't large, but the food was good and people were just great. The hotel also has a restaurant, but we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new rooms on the west side of the hotel property. The lobby wehre the older rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently celebrated our wedding at The Gage Hotel in Marathon and loved every minute of it. We were able to book the hotel to capacity which was perfect as it gave everyone a variety of rooms and prices to chose from. We were able to accommodate those who wanted a bit more luxury and space in Captain Shepards and Los Portales rooms and those who wanted first-rate, yet affordable accommodations in the Historic Hotel. All of our guests loved where their rooms. The property overall provided a wonderful experience for everyone, from hanging out in The Gage Gardens during the day, to the delicious food at the 12 Gage restaurant, to the cozy White Buffalo Bar in the evenings. And the food was delicious as well! Many of our guests traveled from New York, San Francisco and Los Angeles to attend and loved the quality and inventiveness of the food and accommodations, all experienced in the gorgeous West Texas landscape.

Most of all, I cannot say enough about the staff and service. They approached everything throughout the weekend with enthusiasm, expert advise and a can-do attitude that not only created an unforgettable event for us, but also made the entire planning process a fun and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight visiting big bend, we were in the old part of the hotel with bathrooms in the corridor. Not a problem we thought as was only staying one night.. The room was very noisy, people going to their rooms and then using the bathrooms throughout the night was very irritating, banging doors and chatter.
The room are a little tired too and the bed was very uncomfortable.
Having said that, the bar and restaurant were great, staff polite so not a all bad review

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Gage Hotel in desolate Marathon ,TX is an oasis of old timey western luxury and hospitality. The little rooms are authentically furnished with details of the past in a most charming and comfortable manner. Everywhere are picturesque comfortable sitting areas. Last night fireplaces were blazing as it was chilly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been going to the Gage for several years to enjoy Christmas. It's hard not to like: the town of Marathon has only 500 people and is in the middle of nowhere, bordering Big Bend National Park. The Gage has a fun bar and an excellent restaurant. Accommodations are very nice but not consistent. I'd recommend one of the rooms next to the patios of the hotel. We've tried the various houses, which are nice but always seem to be missing something. Most recently, we stayed at a new house that's part of the hotel and has 5 separate rooms. BE CAREFUL: the bathrooms for some of the rooms in that house were separate from the actual rooms, requiring guests to walk through the hallway past other guests to their bathroom--not good enough for the price that's charged. The staff are also a bit unwelcoming and treat guests like they're lucky to get a room. Still, the setting is hard to beat; we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyreuil, France
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I enjoyed my two nights in the Gage Hotel, Marathon, West Texas. Once a ranch house, the current owner has turned it into a luxurious hotel, with extensions across the highway that houses large ranch house rooms and suites. There isn't much to the town of Marathon itself (population 500+), but it is a gateway to the Big Bend National Park area of West Texas, a much under appreciated area of the USA.
Our room was very comfortable, beds, bath, and quiet, except for the thrilling sound of the night train as it sped through the little city (infrequent). The restaurant is superb. Excellent food, modern cuisine, worth the trip alone for this. In the middle of one dinner there was a tremendous rain storm, and the lights went out for a few minutes of candlelight. Very romantic! The waitress said it was the first rain in two years!
There is a lovely pool, spa services, a workout center in the Ritchey Building across the railroad tracks, a lovely garden, and good walks nearby. I would recommend staying for a long weekend to relax, enjoy the food and the spa. There is much to see nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Address: 102 W Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.