We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luling Bar-B-Q

Luling Bar-B-Q
709 E Davis St, Red Barn by R.R. Tracks, Luling, TX 78648-2319
830-875-3848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Luling
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Nokomis, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate at most of the BBQ places on the Texas BBQ Trail and this one rates near the top. Their ribs were the best I ate. The brisket was tasty and the sausage was above average. I went back for more ribs. Nice people and a pleasant dining experience. Reasonable. Less cost than most.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped by to try it out on our way back to Austin from the coast. This place always seems to have a steady stream of business, so just wanted to check it out. You've got to love traveling along the "BBQ Trail"! We were very pleased with our brisket and sausage! The brisket was lean and juicy.....not fatty. The sausage was very lean and tasted great. The casing was not too tough which is nice. The BBQ sauce is mustardy (if that is even a word)! We like mustard, so we thought it was tasty. However, the brisket and sausage was so good, it really did not need any sauce. Topped if off with a Big Red. Just another great BBQ adventure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Get the ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The brisket and sausage are both great, but the baby back ribs are incredible. I usually don't go for a lot of pork bbq while in Texas, but I'm glad I did here. These ribs stack up against anyone, anywhere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you like "mustardy/vinegar" BBQ sauce~”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

In our opinion, the BBQ sauce can make or break a good BBQ place. Since we had already tried City Market, we wanted to do something different. Thus, we went to Luling BBQ. We were greeted by the helpful staff and liked the "selection" of meats. We purchased ribs, brisket and sausage. The ribs were overpriced. The brisket was dry. The sausage was overcooked. Their coleslaw met our "taste" preferences...and the iced tea was good. I purchased a gallon "to go". Additionally, we were disappointed with the beans and banana pudding. If you are in the area, I'd recommend going to Lockhart for BBQ OR back to City Market. Lastly, we are more "sweet BBQ sauce" lovers....so, their sauce wasn't to our liking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was good, but a step below some of Texas's best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The ribs had a pretty good taste, but were a little greasy. The brisket wasn't that exciting. These are my 2 meats I judge all BBQ places by, and the only ones I usually eat. As I looked around the crowded restaurant almost everyone had chicken and sausage so maybe that's what the do best, but I can't say for sure.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luling Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Luling Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luling Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.