We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bacon cheeseburger and onion rings keep me coming back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Drive In Cafe

Ray's Drive In Cafe
420 N Timberland Dr, Lufkin, TX 75901-0460
936-634-3262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Lufkin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lufkin, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Bacon cheeseburger and onion rings keep me coming back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Ray's is a Lufkin institution! It's as good as a drive-in can get. Hamburgers are made to order, so don't get in a rush; just enjoy! My favorite is the bacon cheeseburger, but for heart disease prevention reasons, I can't enjoy one as often as I would like! But the REAL reason I keep coming back are those onion rings! A generous shake (or two!) of salt and some ketchup - the perfect side to a burger!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Ketchup :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I got the rays special burger and an order of onion rings. The burger was good, but nothing special. The onion rings had no seasoning and we decided to take the food to the park nearby so my son could play. We realized they had forgotten our request for extra ketchup and given us none. Perhaps I could have eaten the onion rings if I had gotten ketchup. But since I didn't I don't recommend the onion rings. My son got fries, they were good, but lacked salt as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Only Tried Once, But Made an Impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The ladies who worked behind the counter were very sweet, helpful and patient with me. I ordered a burger, a shake and onion rings; all were very good! I would love to go back and try what else they have to offer, unfortunately I don't make it to that side of town much. :/

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We heard great things about this burger place, but our family was not impressed. The chicken strips were good, but the burger was very plain, needed some seasoning. Maybe we just picked a bad day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“greasy and GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

i always love the Ray's Special hamburger! lots of stuff that is bad for my arteries but it tastes SO GOOD! onions and cheese melted onto the patties -- yum! and their Taco Salad is also delicious... i'm not a huge fan of their onion rings, but most everything i've ever had at Ray's is wonderful!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Drive In Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Drive In Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Drive In Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.