We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The decor and facilities are a Jeff Foxworthy Joke waitin to be told” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pitt Stop BBQ

Pitt Stop BBQ
2108 E Denman Ave, Lufkin, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 110 Restaurants in Lufkin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Livingston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“The decor and facilities are a Jeff Foxworthy Joke waitin to be told”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Food is Awfully Good!
Thursday is "BLAZIN BUTTS DAY" Don't ask! JUST GO! ask for Blazing Sauce.. it's not that hot!
But it is Damn Good!!

The Decor: Oh HELL.... just go see it! It's a Pictorial History of Big Hair, Scarey Eyeshadow and Dead and Decrepit Music and Movie Stars. Take the time to view it all!

It's a Meal AND a Show (sorta) for less than a Movie Date for two!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

..So said my 8 year old, and my husband rated the chipped beef sandwich as the best he has had along with a chipped beef sandwich from Austin.
Charles and Brenda Ellisor make you feel welcome from the moment you step into their eatery. It may not look anything special from the outside, but as Brenda says she focuses on her cooking and preparing the best (no fat - she takes extra care in trimming her beef) BBQ for her customers. As mentioned by other reviewers, their reputation has drawn in many celebrity customers, and they proudly display these personally autographed pictures on their walls.
We were entertained by her stories, regaled by the food, and left feeling that we had experienced something out of the ordinary and very special.
Note that they offer specials on certian days and Fridays are their shrimp boil days (the creole seasoning is quite potent, and we finished off a lb very easily between 4 adults and 1 child).
Also note that they operate Monday to Friday now and close shop on the weekends.
Our bill for 4 adults and 2 children covering BBQ sandwiches and shrimps + drinks came to about $10/head - great value for a delicious meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best BarBQue in Lufkin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Oh my goodness! We just ate here because a friend had said it was finger licking good barbeque and they were right! I even tried their "hot bits" and they were on fire. The sauce is definitely made in house and I bought some for home. Found out that that travelers will call ahead and have their orders ready for pick up when they come through Lufkin on the way to Houston. The price is so reasonable. Well worth a stop just off Loop 287 on the same side of the street as JackNthe Box on Hwy 69.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in East Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Barely a 10th of a mile south of the Lufkin loop on Hwy 69 S, on the right just as you top the hill, sits the best BBQ joint in East Texas, Pitt Stop BBQ. Owners Brenda and Chuck Ellisor will welcome you as you come through the door and make you feel right at home. By the second time they see you, you'll be treated like a regular and just be part of the family. Though advertised as "Home of the World's Most Dangerous BBQ", that's more a warning that you may eat so much you'll hurt yourself than for spiceyness. Chuck can make it however you want, from mild to wild (another way to hurt yourself, cause Chuck grows some serious peppers). The spicey link that Chuck makes himself is off the hook, not too spicey and full of flavor. His spicey link po-boy is my favorite. Many celebrities order from or stop by on their way through the Piney Woods due to their stellar reputation, and their autographed photos decorate the whole place. Not only is their food just that good, but they've never had one Health Dept demerit in all the years they've been open. Let's see another place with those bragging rights. If you're lucky, Brenda might have a quilt or two there that she's working on she can show you. Oh, they have a website too, though I think the hours on there are wrong now. Next time you are near Lufkin, make sure to stop by and discover what you've been missing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitt Stop BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Pitt Stop BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitt Stop BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.