We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Rio

Cafe Del Rio
1901 S 1st St, Lufkin, TX 75901-5603
936-639-4471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 110 Restaurants in Lufkin
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Food was great, and lot of it.The service excellent, and the homemade tortillas with butter and honey very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garrison Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The best tortillas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Even though my husband doesn't really care to eat here, the rest of my family does. Their enchiladas are amazing. Chips and hot sauce are very good. I usually eat the Laredo. Taco, tostado, and a cheese enchiladas. Their margaritas are very good. I wish that I was there right now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Healthy Offered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you go to Cafe Del Rio, consider it junk food night. There really isn't anything nutritional offered. The small splashes of vegetables are small and either overcooked or oversalted such as the spoonful on guacamole on my salad. Put up a free phonie ice cream machine and offer chips and salsa, people will come.
Really mediocre food that was served room temp. I have made my last trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really fun, really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the full parking lot, and then we weren't disappointed by the food. Excellent Tex Mex in a fun atmosphere. The premium margarita was a little watered down, but overall, we loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service. Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Meghan was our waiter and she was very attentive to our table even during the busy lunch rush! Even after we paid, she checked on us! Great chip and salsa! :-)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Rio also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.