We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive - plain vanilla but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   601 Ave Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2613   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 56 hotels in Lubbock
Millstone, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Inexpensive - plain vanilla but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I read the other negative reviews and almost canceled my reservation - but I didn't. First thing I did was take a big sniff for smoke when I opened the door - nothing!

L-shaped two-story property all with outdoor entrances.My room was on the first floor along the short side of the "L" - it the back of the building, The area was well lit at night but I wasn't too happy about the location.

The room was clean as was the bathroom. It's an older property so don't go looking for 'newness.' It's a place to stay while visiting - not a place to hang out with kids on a rainy day unless the kids bring their own electronic entertainment. Did not use the WiFi, The flat screen TV was new - 30 channels - king bed - clean sheets. Bathroom towels need to be replaced with fluffier ones. Iron and ironing board were all OK. There's a pool but I did not use it. Friendly staff. I got what i paid for.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the short side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
65
15
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I travel extensively due to the nature of my businesses. Having stated this, I have seen and stayed at a myriad of hotels. The amount of effort put into this review will mirror that of the effort I received from the staff.....meager, at best.

* If you have children, continue driving.
* If you travel alone and are cautious as to your security settings, continue driving.
* If you want anything remotely close to a breakfast, continue driving.
* If you hope to stay in a non-smoking room, given the nature of your reservation, continue driving.

Room Tip: Simply stated, keep driving down the road, OR, sleep in your car if need be. Suffice it to stay, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stay often at La Quinta’s across Texas, this has to be the absolute worst. Thinking a motel close to the Civic Center would be nice I booked a weekend away for my wife & myself. Room smelled heavily of smoke the bathroom particularly the toilet was filthy (poop). Called the front desk requested the room be cleaned as we went to dinner three hours later the room is still filthy. Called the desk and they sent a lady from housekeeping to clean the bathroom, after she left I had to get a live roach from the floor so my wife could use the restroom. Went to front desk to complain and was told I would be credited $25 on my bill. I informed them I would be checking out in the morning as my wife wanted to leave immediately. The next morning the TV didn’t work and when I checked out I was only credited $20. What a joke La Quinta needs to take this place back under corporate ownership it is a black eye on their name. I will continue to stay at La Quinta’s but never again at this one!!!
Terry K.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Always stay at La Quinta Lubbock, TX on our way to/from Taos, NM each year. Service /room are always excellent. Checking in/out is easy and the staff is very helpful. For some reason our two Labs (Bella and Bruno) love staying their maybe because La Quinta is pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our stay at this La Quinta was not satisfactory. Our first room had the pungent smell of cigarette smoke, so we were moved to a second room. This room had tons of little gnat-like bugs in the bathroom. Completely unacceptable. We had already moved once, so we kept the bathroom door shut and woke up nice and early to get out of the room. The staff and location were nice - the quality of the room was not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center

Address: 601 Ave Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2613
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lubbock La Quinta
La Quinta Lubbock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Lubbock - Downtown Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.