We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Lubbock
Fort Worth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Newly Renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

This hotel is an older hotel with a garden atrium similar to what they call a holidome. The hotel is under renovation and our room was beautiful. The public areas, according to the friendly front desk staff is scheduled to begin soon. The hotel has rooms accessible from the atrium area and rooms accessible from the outside. I am one that likes to park in front of my room so I can get to my things easily without packing them through this large facility. We did not encounter any of the problems as written in past reviews. The staff makes you feel welcome, the rooms were clean, we did not see bugs as mentioned in earlier posts, other than the normal crickets that sometimes make it in the door with you. This happens at home as well, so it does not bother me to see that kind of critter. The duck pond was nice to see outside my window. I recommend this hotel to travelers. I located a coupon online through the city of Lubbock website $64, great rate for a such a huge room.

  • Liked — The large rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — The lack of a business center
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    27
    23
    19
See reviews for
47
19
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

$50 for a Sunday night. Looks better on the inside vs outside. Staff found a coupon to comp a breakfast. Bed was great! Room was clean. Money well spent.

  • Liked — bed, value
  • Disliked — shower curtain, did not have crescent rod
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Stayed here in March 2007. Although the hotel is nice if you get an inside room - we were given a room on the ground floor at the back. This opened directly onto a massive car park used by the hotel guests but also by a car hire company. It seemed ok as it was daytime but when nighttime came there were groups of people shouting and screaming outside our room and we did not feel secure or safe.

The room was large and pretty good, but if you stay here make sure you don't get a room at the back on the ground floor.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Not safe at back of hotel on ground floor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkhan09, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2009
We appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. We take every guests concerns very seriously. We do apologize that you were unable to stay in an inside room during your stay. Rooms are assigned on a first come first serve basis and due to high occupancy sometimes it is necessary to have people stay in our outside rooms unless other wise requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We booked this hotel for about half the advertised rate through hotwire.com and were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in an interior room facing the pool area - it's winter time, so the humidity problem mentioned by another reviewer wasn't apparent. The room appeared recently redone with very nice carpeting, furniture and bedding, as does the entire dome area of the hotel. The room is a nice size with a coffee pot and ironing board. Everything is very clean and nice and the bed is comfortable. There is an exercise room available as well as free use of a decent health club next door. I would definitely stay here again. Our family travels frequently to Lubbock for my husband's business, and I would say this one of the two nicest places we've stayed in the area.

  • Liked — clean, nicely furnished, comfy rooms
  • Disliked — It's in Lubbock
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

Holiday Inn Park Plaza was a wonderful hotel. The service was outstanding and they went above and beyond in this area. The property is an older property, howevery, I found the room to be very spacious and clean. I did not have any problems with bugs or with the A/C - Heating units. The atrium area is beautifully decorated for Christmas and live garden plants. The front desk was extremely informative, in that, the hotel just received all new beds, comforters, and new leather desk chairs. I found pretty white towels and clean linens in my room. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to feel at home. The hospitality I felt was overwhelming and I would definitely stay there again.
I am from the "old school" and like to park outside my room for easy access with luggage. I found the east side of the hotel to be delightful with a large pond with ducks. Keep up the good work
Holiday Inn, people do notice the good things you are doing.

  • Liked — The garden atrium
  • Disliked — The restaurant was not open for dinner
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead, they stay busy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waywest, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Beds were comfortable, pool is nice, rooms are very decent in size. Housekeeping knocks to early in the morning. Desk clerks are nice, and they are good about bringing you what you need. Door keys are easy to loose there access, had to go back and get another. I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice place with an indoor pool and a good night sleep.

  • Liked — The beds are comfortable, and the staff is helpful
  • Disliked — The housekeeping knocking on the door at 9am!!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch the door keys and make sure they work, and putting the do not disturb on the door for housekeeping is a must.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbs nm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We just got back from HIPP-Lubbock TX yesterday. Not only was the carpet very stained but the sofa had stains also, but the bathroom had major dust deposits around to top of the tile (which is 1/2 up the wall). The blow dryerhad hair stuck to it. And the worst of the worst, the front door had the rubber strip missing on the bottom and we had to put a towel down to deep the bugs out!!! You could see daylight coming from under the door. The walls were quite soiled and not been cleaned in many moons!
Don' bother-it was not cleaned and had not been cleaned in some time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.