We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 55 hotels in Lubbock
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We scheduled a visit to Lubbock to see a football game and our grandson. Unfortunately we waited too late to get a reservation at the hotel where we had stayed on a previous visit. As a matter of fact, it seemed as though all hotels were booked for Nov. 9th. All, that is, but this one. We made our reservations but after reading the negative reviews I was very concerned about what our accommodations would be like. We were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is an older hotel but we found it quite comfortable. It was clean and quiet. The rooms were big and quite comfortable. The carpets, draperies and bedding all looked family new. The staff was friendly and eager to please. The location on the loop made it easy to get to wherever we wanted to go in Lubbock. We had two rooms on different floors, one a king and the other a double queen. We were in rooms facing inside which I would recommend. One suggestion I would make is to have a frig and microwave in every room. Our daughter and son-in-law had a frig, but we had neither. Upon leaving, we all agreed that we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We truly appreciate the compliments and hope to see you again soon. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to celebrate service and show appreciation to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    24
    22
    14
See reviews for
41
16
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Holy 80's Batman! Holiday Inn needs to sink some serious renovation money into this one! Dated decor, dated layout, dated rooms. The center domed area looked like it had a pool at one time but is now one large carpeted area with a tired hotel bar.

Bad stuff: previously mentioned decor and questionable housecleaning. When I pulled the bed apart to check for "you know whats" I found several years of other peoples' hair and dirt on the top edge of the box spring, under the headboard. (Total gross out.)

Good stuff: Lady at the desk was nice, as was the lady who was working at the breakfast buffet. I was able to get in and out quickly and the food selection was good.

The hotel choices in Lubbock are pretty limited but I am afraid this one is a pass for me next time in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments on TripAdvisor. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services. We will definitely look into the issues with your room. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Due to other Holiday Inn closing I ended up here so I could get by Priority Club points. When I checked in I realized this was originally a Holidome. I had stayed here in the early '80's. Front desk staff was courteous and friendly. Not upgrades to to Texas Tech team staying here. Coaches get those rooms. Dined in restaurant Friday night. Rib Eye, mixed vegetable and baked potato was very good. Service could have been a little more attentive. $174 for a FB weekend wasn't bad price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. We like to celebrate our employees and our services, so it is always important for us to know how we are doing. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We also stayed in Room 120 and I am happy to say that we had no problem with it being haunted. It is a smoking room and there were no ashtrays in the room. The room was clean but It is very dated with dim lighting. This is an outside room with the highway in front of it and you get a lot of highway noise at night. We were woke up by sirens more than once. Also, the a/c compressor kicks on and off constantly and is very very noisy, enough to wake you up. I do not feel like it is worth the amount charged for the room, we have stayed in a lot nicer rooms for less money. The bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows. Check in and out was quick and easy. We will not stay again because it is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments on TripAdvisor. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A room was booked only for one night. Granted, as it was a smoking room, I believed it would have been a little below par compared to a non-smoking room. However, it was extremely out dated and no ash trays were present. Stray hairs were abundant, especially in the shower. The walls and lighting were dingy and the bathroom tiles looked ready to fall off the walls. I had the weird feeling I was being watched the entire time I was there. After I arrived back at the hotel around midnight, the foreboding present was even more prevalent. Completely sober and as a usual skeptic of this sort of happening, I felt a hand on my shoulder with a shove behind it. My boyfriend had the exact same thing happen as soon as we got into our room, but didn't tell me as to not scare me to death. Needless to say, we packed our bags and didn't even chance staying in the room for another minute, and drove the 2 hours home at 2 a.m. The next day a $20 charge was put on my card with no explanation. The room looked exactly as we found it since we were only there a short time and both keys were left in the room, so I'm assuming a haunted room costs extra.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there this weekend 9/20 - 9/22 for the game and to tour the campus. I will not stay at this hotel ever again. It is extremely out dated and the rates compare to what I expect to pay in New York. You do not get what you pay for. They may have been sold out and they may have you on supply and demand, but if I ever come back to Lubbock I will not stay at this hotel. I don’t know how leadership can go to sleep at night knowing the value that they are providing their guest.

Room Tip: I can’t give a positive tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are deeply sorry that you found some aspects of the Holiday Inn Park Plaza less than satisfactory, but we are in fact a hotel with interior and exterior rooms available, as well as a host of services that you would find at any Holiday Inn or full service property. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, in this instance it appears you had a problem with your guest room door. We welcome all opportunities to improve, and definitely apologize for the issues you discussed above; we will look into them. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

That's how many cockroaches I saw while I stayed there this week. One in my room and others just running around in the atrium. I went with 3 other coworkers, 2 of them found a cockroach in their room. I literally have look at the floor while I walk, the one time I didn't I stepped on one. They're not even the little ones, they're the big brown/black ones with wings.

As if that's not bad enough, the walls are paper thin. I can hear my neighbor's TV and their conversations the whole night.

Also, I requested late check out at 2 pm for the last day the night before. Exactly at Noon, someone came knock loudly at my door asking me to check out, and then came a phone call from front desk, an hour later at 1 pm, housekeeping knocked on my door (even though I had the do not distrub sign on). What's the point of asking for late check out if they won't let you sleep?

Room Tip: Stay away from this cockroach infested hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are deeply sorry that you found some aspects of the Holiday Inn Park Plaza less than satisfactory. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services, and the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, in this instance it appears you had a problem with roaches, the keys malfunctioning and noise from neighboring guests. First let us address the roaches, by stating that we do have monthly pest control services contracted with EcoLab and were treated just before your arrival. The black bugs that are seen around the hotel are water bugs and from what I have seen are dying or dead in most circumstances. Second, we have been having issues with a new set of key cards that were recently purchased and we are working with the supplier to work that out. Third, most of our rooms have connecting doors and depending on the individuals, it has been experienced where you can hear your neighbor. We welcome all opportunities to improve, and definitely apologize for the issues discussed above; we will look into them further. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Holiday Inn Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn
Address: 3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best in dinning and shopping in Lubbock while staying at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, conveniently located just off Loop 289. The Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza is within minutes of Texas Tech, downtown Lubbock, the South Plains Shopping Center and the Buddy Holly Museum. We boast the largest hotel atrium in Lubbock and West Texas. Relax to the sounds of the Grand Atrium Fountain and Holiday Inn as you stroll through our tropical paradise. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Park Plaza; rest easy. You've found your 'home away from home,' with a large indoor pool and the Holiday Inn Lounge and Atrium Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.