We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunger at a price, but a nice room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 56 hotels in Lubbock
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hunger at a price, but a nice room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I like how nice the Holiday Inns are around the country, but don't like how they have stopped offering a free breakfast with your room. At least the ones I have stayed at. The indoor pool at this location and the nice trees, and plants makes it nice. Easy to get to from anywhere in Lubbock.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We, at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are striving to improve all of our services and do appreciate and value the time you took to let us know how well we are doing and where we can improve. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    25
    23
    16
See reviews for
42
19
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was here for a family reunion and my expectations based on the street view were not very high. The guy working the front desk was very slow speaking which bothered me, the rooms were very odd - no natural light and the wall with the entrance was all glass and faced the inside of the hotel...which was a hallway, so people could see your room if opened. The carpet looked like it belonged in an old casino and they didn't even bother to take the plants in the planters out of their original plastic pots. Needs some updates for sure!

The breakfast was $8 for a continental breakfast and $11 for a hot breakfast, both buffets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear travelmiamor,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is by no doubt an older property that has gone through many updates. Rooms were clean and the facility itself is very large. Indoor pool looked inviting for families and I would guess nice to be inside out of the heat & wind.
This hotel it appears has been modified over the years to handle the large football weekends at TT I am guessing. A tad on the expensive side for what & where it is ($179 with tax).

Room Tip: I would definitely ask to have an inside room. Downstairs if you have issues climbing stairs. Not ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We want to thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We appreciate your honesty and how we compare to properties internationally. We are sorry you found us to be a little pricey, but it appears you stayed with us on a high demand weekend where prices at all hotels were at a premium in Lubbock. Again, we appreciate your comments and hope we can serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Not at all what was advertised! Suppose to be a 3 Star hotel. It was late and we had paid for the room in advance or we wouldnt have stayed. There wasn't even an elevator to our room. We had to pull our luggage up the stairs and we were traveling with 3 young children so we had a lot of luggage. Room was musty and damp and the bathroom was DIRTY! We travel a lot and don't have real high expectations for a hotel, but this one was a real bummer!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments on TripAdvisor. Without comments like yours we would not have the opportunity to improve upon our services. Unfortunately, the elevator situation is a common issue that we certainly want to apologize to you about, and let you know that we do have one on site; it is just off to one end. Our staff should have at least offered to assist you with your luggage, and again we apologize. We will definitely look into the issues with your room being musty and the bathroom not appearing to be clean, for this too I apologize. We are striving to improve our services and our product, so issues like yours do not occur for our future guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again, and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very old fashioned - access to rooms from the ouside of the building. Rooms and bed OK but not worth the Holiday Inn premium. Located on the south side of the city so you need to drive to any destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your posting on TripAdvisor, and we do apologize that you did not find us up to Holiday Inn standards. As you stated we are old fashioned and do have rooms that are exterior entry, but we do have interior entry rooms as well. We are actually centrally located on South Loop 289 in Lubbock, making us easily accessible from most points in town, and making any destination within town no more than fifteen minutes away. We would like to think that we are well worth the Holiday Inn Premium, as we are a full service location with a restaurant, bar, banquet and event services, shuttle services, indoor pool & sauna, fitness room, and many more standard Holiday Inn amenities. We are also working very hard and urgently to have the friendliest, most guest service oriented staff in town. Again, thank you for your comments, we hope we can serve you again and show you how good we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on graduation weekend and will NEVER return. It is an older hotel much in need of renocvations. The room was dirty and the outside entrance was very loud with people yellinbg in the parking lot all night. We actually saw bugs in our room and the bathroom was not clean. It was overpriced(maybe because of graduation weekend) and the front desk staff was very curt. Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!! Dirty, overpriced, noisy and rude staff!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We, at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, appreciate your candor in bringing the issues with your stay to our attention as well as those of this online community, and sincerely apologize for the issues within our control. It is unfortunate that you did not receive our customary level of service and that you were unsatisfied with your stay. Though it was an extremely busy weekend, which is no excuse for you not to enjoy your stay with us, or for our staff not to treat you for who you are our valued guest. We will take your comments and suggestions to heart and share them with our staff, management team and ownership, so we may improve upon our product and services, in our goal to satisfy each and every one of our guests. Again, we do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay; we hope that you will give us another chance to show you how good we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had stayed at the hotel before and we're eager to return! However, I decided to book through Hotwire and ended up with an outside entrance room at the rear of the property (last time we stayed indoors near the pool area). The room was adequate but there was a conference of some kind and our room was located near the make shift smoker's area. Everytime we opened the door, smoke rushed in. Thankfully we were visiting family and returned rather late but still had to deal with the smokers, loud gatherings and the difficulty of parking near our room due to the large crowds. It makes me wonder if they give their preferred rooms to those that book through them directly so if I were to make any recommendation, go through their site and ask for an indoor room.

Room Tip: Ask for an indoor room near the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We, at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Unfortunately, sometimes when booking through third party vendors, you will not receive exactly the type of accomadations you are looking for, that is why they are at an extremely reduced rate. Just like the commercial says for Hotwire.com, it is rooms that a hotel has not sold. During your visit, we did have a convention on site that had reserved several rooms and meeting space, which left us with exterior rooms available. It is unfortunate that your room location, and West Texas Wind caused you discomfort from the groups smoking area. We want to apologize for the problems these issues may have caused you, but hope you will come back and visit again so we can show you how good our services can be. Again, thank you for staying, book directly with us so we can set you up with exactly what you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza

Address: 3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best in dinning and shopping in Lubbock while staying at the Holiday Inn Park Plaza, conveniently located just off Loop 289. The Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza is within minutes of Texas Tech, downtown Lubbock, the South Plains Shopping Center and the Buddy Holly Museum. We boast the largest hotel atrium in Lubbock and West Texas. Relax to the sounds of the Grand Atrium Fountain and Holiday Inn as you stroll through our tropical paradise. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Park Plaza; rest easy. You've found your 'home away from home,' with a large indoor pool and the Holiday Inn Lounge and Atrium Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.