We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beacon in the night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Ave. Q, Lubbock, TX 79401 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel & Towers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Lubbock
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Beacon in the night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a wonderful place to stay. It is a little dated but it is clean and comfortable and the people we as nice as could be when we checked in in the middle of the night. They even brought a wheelchair out for me since I was so sore from the long drive. The room service was timely and good. The coffee was great! If I ever find myself in Lubbock again, I will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the suite! It is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lot of other reviewers have mentioned the need for updates- I agree. The hotel is decent but showing its age. On the upside, the rooms are roomy and fairly clean. Beds and pillows are good. Staff was helpful and cheerful. Food in the restaurant was good with lots of nearby alternatives. The shower was excellent. On the downside, the desk/chair combinations are horrible. The chair had an adjustment range of about 1". I'm a writer and trying to get some typing done with the desk at chin height was impossible. In the bathroom, the toilet lid wouldn't stay up and I had to use a draped towel to hold it up so I could pee. We were here for a large convention and it was the official hotel. I'd stay here again if had to and I'd be happy enough, but if I were given a choice, I'd probably look around.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room itself was quite spacious and more than ample. The problem was in the bathroom. The plumbing was suspect and the shower curtain (yes, curtain) showed black spots and wear. I'm not the most picky guest in the world, but cleanliness and bathrooms are important to me. Based on what I encountered, I'd probably look elsewhere next time. This hotel has been under other names in the past and has some years on it. It appears the staff is trying, but age may be catching up with the property. The location is good and there are numerous restaurants close by.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Consumers beware!! The Positive - the wait staff in the restaurant was A++. The food (buffet style) was terrific...hats off to the chef. This hotel is old and is definitely not worth the money I paid for my stay. They quadruple the prices on game day The MAX amount should be somewhere in the $39-$49 range. There were stains on the carpet in the room, and a ceiling tile missing in the elevator, the drink machine took my money, I could go on and on with the little things. Per the website, check-in is at 3pm....HA! An announcement was made after 4 pm, that we could begin check in...imagine my surprise when I got to the counter and was told that my rooms weren't ready, however I could get into a suite immediately for an additional $30. Seriously, $30 for a sub par hotel. When I pressed the issue and insisted I would take a suite for the exact same price as my original room due to the inconvenience I was caused...lo and behold, the rooms I reserved SUDDENLY became available. The rooms were always available as I took the liberty to knock on a few doors on the way to my room...hmmm....no one answered my knocks. Beware of the shady business practice. Hopefully, I will NEVER have to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be ideal....but do come back for the buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed here for game day weekend, so all hotels are outrageous for low quality. We got a handicap room, so the shower was walk in and water got all over the floor and there was very low water pressure. In addition, you can hear doors shutting, people talking and people walking above you. I will say that the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the employees were all very helpful! The bar gave us complimentary water bottles. The rooms are a good size as well, just don't expect your best night of sleep here.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

If this hotel was in DFW, San Antonio, Austin, etc., it would be a 3-star review. But for Lubbock, this is a 4-star stay! We were in town for the TTU vs Kansas game on 10/18/14. When we arrived, I wasn't impressed, as the exterior of the hotel looked faded (which I am sure is due to the beat down the West Texas sun dishes out). But the outside was misleading. The inside of the hotel appears to have been refreshed in the last 5-10 years and was appealing. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the free breakfast was robust! I left every morning stuffed and ready for a nap! The hotel staff were friendly as well. This hotel is very close to the Texas Tech campus. Overall, I was pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: The atrium area is a long walk from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Honestly there was one staff member that made my whole trip, I stayed at the MCM on a conference in Lubbock for 4 days, I wasn't sure what to expect considering I have never even heard of this amazing town. Ronald from banquets was hands down one of the most humble hard working people I have met in my life, It was a pleasure to have him alongside our conference for the 4 days. The rooms are regular hotel rooms the only thing was my AC made the sound of a race car at night, i did notice some roaches here and there but it happens. The restaurant staff was also great, the free breakfast in the morning is delicious, they have an omelette bar and plenty of options. Texas Tech is down the street and they have a pretty cool nightlife district. I would recommend the MCM Elegante.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites

Address: 801 Ave. Q, Lubbock, TX 79401 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel & Towers)
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Texas' premier hotel address. The MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites offers deluxe accommodations and amenities combined with the West Texas hospitality that has made Lubbock legendary. Located in downtown Lubbock, we are convenient to Texas Tech University and the Lubbock International Airport. The historic Depot Entertainment District and the Broadway Strip are just minutes away. Your pleasure is our business at the MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel And Towers
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.