We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Ave. Q, Lubbock, TX 79401 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel & Towers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 56 hotels in Lubbock
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The bar service was lacking, the restaurant was not open, the hotel is just outdated. Several customers were complaining about the television choice that was playing in the bar area. Soft core porn to say the least and there were many young people and teens in the bar area. The staff didn't seem to care and didn't tun the channel until the show finished playing. Seems kind of strange considering there is this weirdly large marble monument of the 10 commandments that greets you in the entrance of the hotel. It's just an old, non updated property. Only positive was the bed. It was comfortable. Hair dryer was horrible. Bath amenities poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

An Older Hotel Which Has Been Maintained And Updated. The Staff Was Very Friendly And Helpful. The Courtesy Van Was Definitely A Plus. Really Enjoyed Having Our Meetings Here. Would Definitely Recommend It For Meetings And Conferences.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this hotel for a swim meet. The district paid for everything. Anyway, I'll get to the point,
The elevators need updating, sometimes you would think they got stuck or something. The pool is small and doesn't look like much fun.
The rooms are rather large and the windows are big too, very nice. But the freggin showers either burn your scalp or feel like a bunch of bullets are hitting your back. The showers suck lol.
The breakfast is good too, I give it a thumbs up. It's like a buffet in there. The food is good, they have loads of stuff to get and the seating is great. Like a mini restaurant with a view :)
Staff is also very friendly and helpful!
This was a great hotel, very simple yet above simplicity if you get it haha. One of my favorite hotels I stayed at :)

Room Tip: The location of the suites is very quiet and you only hear the water fountain, it's a really coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coteach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here for a conference that was held in the convention center. We had a room in the part of the hotel that is in the front and not around the fountain, so we had a pretty long walk to the meetings every day. It is not as close as you may think.
Breakfast service was extremely poor for a group who needed efficient service to get to morning meetings. There was no help offered to our women with their luggage either. It would seem that management did not plan for the large conference that was booked the week we were there.
The room was clean but certainly nothing special. I did not have any other problems, but I would not choose to stay here if I were planning a trip on my own to this area.

Room Tip: If you are going to the convention center each day, you may want to ask for a room in the back secti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to make a sudden and fast trip to Lubbock due to an illness in the family. They were kind they were quick to make sure we would have the rooms and then extended our stay when we had to do so. I greatly appreciate the service. I read some of the reviews and I must say it takes time to redo that many rooms and floors. Our room was very nice and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the beds to be very comfy, but it needs some maintenance work. Our dresser drawers would not stay closed - you'd close one and another would pop open or all six would open. We had to keep our luggage pushed in front of the drawers. A friend's toilet wouldn't flush and by day 4, we were afraid ours wasn't going to either. Wouldn't hurt them to spend a few dollars and re-calk around the sink area and repaint the tubs - very dingy. The lobby area is beautiful as well as the courtyard, but don't think much work was done in the rooms. Considering we were paying convention rates, it was ok, but I wouldn't have stayed if I'd been paying full room price.
I must add, the staff was exceptionally friendly, that also helped us overlook some of the dinginess.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a quick trip and it also happened to be our anniversary. We chose to stay here because of the other Elegante properties that we know to be nice. This property does not deserve to be in the same category as the Elegantes in Odessa or Abilene. I was somewhat skeptical when we pulled up as it looks unkept and outdated. There are large cracks in the stucco covering and big chunks of it off in many places. I hoped the rooms would be better, but unfortunately, the outside was actually better than the inside. Our room had soaking wet carpet in the vanity area, and it didn't appear clean--the bed was haphazardly made and there were obvious places where the wallpaper was coming off. Lampshades were crooked and there were fingerprint smudges on the furniture and tv. When I called the front desk to ask if we could have another room, I was told they were booked to capacity but they would bring an airblower to dry the carpet?!? The maintenance guy came up and set up the blower and said they never should have rented this room. At $189 a night, I agreed! After some frustration trying to get a manager, I finally spoke with a nice man who said be would put us in another room. He did and allowed us to look at it beforehand. It was better because the carpet was dry :). This hotel just needs some serious TLC and a lot of updating. The second room had two lamps with burned out lightbulbs, dirty vanity area, the towel rack is coming out of the wall, the toilet doesn't flush completely, the safety latch on the door is coming out of the wall and won't stay in place, and the wallpaper is bubbled up in this room as well. The positives are that the air conditioner works and I haven't seen any bugs. We will never stay here again when for the same money we can go down the road and stay in a much nicer hotel. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites

Address: 801 Ave. Q, Lubbock, TX 79401 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel & Towers)
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Texas' premier hotel address. The MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites offers deluxe accommodations and amenities combined with the West Texas hospitality that has made Lubbock legendary. Located in downtown Lubbock, we are convenient to Texas Tech University and the Lubbock International Airport. The historic Depot Entertainment District and the Broadway Strip are just minutes away. Your pleasure is our business at the MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel And Towers
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.